IBM Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4598 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
2196 Ratings
  1. "Offering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Offering Manager in Westbury, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IBM is good to their employees

    Cons

    Lacks strategy in certain areas of the business

    IBM2018-11-04
  2. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Big Projects to learn on.

    Cons

    Sometimes tough to move the needle in a big company.

    Advice to Management

    Think about managing business unit rotations with product managers on a two year basis.

    IBM2019-04-18
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work overall

    Cons

    Can be too busy sometimes

    IBM2019-04-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Would rate 3.5 if I could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Flexible on job location (i.e. remote work), and setting your own hours. Plenty of opportunities to work abroad. There are training/education/certification opportunities, but all are virtual and self study. The company is large enough where lateral moves can be easy to find, and offer new career challenges.

    Cons

    Finance runs the company, and they will frequently (and suddenly) put in place strict spending cuts. To the point where it is nearly impossible to do any non-customer travel. For group training, conferences, team meetings, etc. There are people with whom I have worked for 10+ years, and have never met face to face. Management puts little effort into career guidance. There are some exceptions to that rule, but not...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a longer-term view of the business, and of your employees. IBM has operated in a short-term mode for the better part of a decade, with mixed results.

    IBM2019-04-11
  5. "Awesome Career Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Service Delivery Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Some awesome reasons working for IBM was they trusted to me to make big decisions with vital internal accounts. Always was on cutting edge technology for AIX & Zos platforms. Working from home was great.

    Cons

    Sometimes would work 80+ hours for issues or major changes with little compensation or acknowledgement. Last few years of down size, was wearing several hats, SME, DPE, BAM, Life Cycle, all to be replaced by cheaper unexpirenced folks hurting only customers satisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    I hope I get another position at IBM So we can use all the skills I learned while there.

    IBM2019-04-12
  6. "Good projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great team , good projects, independent working

    Cons

    No bonus expectations , salary increase

    IBM2019-04-09
  7. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Project Manager 

      I worked at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Large Company, Can move within the company on various assignments.

      Cons

      Lost sight of employee focus, high pressure to meet numbers

      Advice to Management

      Take better care of your most valuable assets, The Employees

      IBM2019-04-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ok, not great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Managing Consultant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM part-time

        Pros

        Good brand recognition nationally. However, brand is still recognized for computer hardware and not services, analytics, or machine learning.

        Cons

        The technology, bonuses, and brand cache are second tier compared to other consulting firms'

        IBM2019-04-16
      • "Caution for older employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - IT Program Manager in Boston, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

        Pros

        Salary, benefits, 401k, vacation, interesting projects

        Cons

        age discrimination, constant reorgs, roles moved to other geos, agile environment hampers productivity,

        Advice to Management

        if it ain't broke, don't fix it

        IBM2019-04-17
      • "Pattern of age discrimination with many layoff selections."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Continuing individual education opportunities. Learning for career growth and development is widely available.

        Cons

        - There are usually many management "cooks" in this kitchen with little direct accountability but plenty of blame disbursement. - There has been a great deal of sharing and reporting by victims of the many layoffs that their age was a prime factor as to why they were selected for "retirement".

        IBM2019-04-16
      Found 4598 reviews