IBM Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4658 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
2222 Ratings
  1. "Prioritized Location Over Knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for many years and have had great opportunities to expand my career. I have had many different jobs over my 20+ here. I have been fortunate to work with amazing people and have felt valued in the roles I have played.

    Cons

    High level CIO leadership has decided that locating talent near where executives are is more important then retaining the knowledge base they have. They are currently giving dozens of long time Massachusetts resources the ultimatum to move to NYC or Raleigh negating their claim that people are their most valuable resource.

    Advice to Management

    Keep high performing teams where they are instead of consolidating based on where an executive sits.

    IBM2019-05-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "IBM doesn't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Used to be ability to work from home

    Cons

    They care about bottom line, that's it. They stopped monthly 401k contributions and made 1 contribution at end of year, so if you leave before the year end, you get zip.

    Advice to Management

    People are your most important asset, not shareholder.

    IBM2019-05-15
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Learning, Multiple technology areas, culture

    Cons

    Slow organization, not best at compensation

    IBM2019-04-29
  4. "Multiple Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    There are multiple opportunities for career enhancement and development.

    Cons

    Can get lost in this large corporate environment but opportunities exists for those that look.

    Advice to Management

    Communication on career opportunities and development at all levels.

    IBM2019-04-23
  5. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Big Projects to learn on.

    Cons

    Sometimes tough to move the needle in a big company.

    Advice to Management

    Think about managing business unit rotations with product managers on a two year basis.

    IBM2019-04-18
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good place to work overall

    Cons

    Can be too busy sometimes

    IBM2019-04-17
  7. "Someone needs to save IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager SAP in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and control over your work Work-life separation

    Cons

    bureaucracy worst compensation package in the SAP consulting market shrinking SAP practice

    Advice to Management

    To attract and retain the best, you need to pay rock star salaries and bonuses. Look at Deloitte, EY and even TCS for examples. Decrease costs associated with internal bureaucracy and overhead.

    IBM2019-05-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Would rate 3.5 if I could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Flexible on job location (i.e. remote work), and setting your own hours. Plenty of opportunities to work abroad. There are training/education/certification opportunities, but all are virtual and self study. The company is large enough where lateral moves can be easy to find, and offer new career challenges.

    Cons

    Finance runs the company, and they will frequently (and suddenly) put in place strict spending cuts. To the point where it is nearly impossible to do any non-customer travel. For group training, conferences, team meetings, etc. There are people with whom I have worked for 10+ years, and have never met face to face. Management puts little effort into career guidance. There are some exceptions to that rule, but not...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a longer-term view of the business, and of your employees. IBM has operated in a short-term mode for the better part of a decade, with mixed results.

    IBM2019-04-11
  9. "Awesome Career Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Service Delivery Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Some awesome reasons working for IBM was they trusted to me to make big decisions with vital internal accounts. Always was on cutting edge technology for AIX & Zos platforms. Working from home was great.

    Cons

    Sometimes would work 80+ hours for issues or major changes with little compensation or acknowledgement. Last few years of down size, was wearing several hats, SME, DPE, BAM, Life Cycle, all to be replaced by cheaper unexpirenced folks hurting only customers satisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    I hope I get another position at IBM So we can use all the skills I learned while there.

    IBM2019-04-12
  10. "Tons of potential but the culture is dire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance prior to colocation

    Cons

    Strange company culture Bonuses are almost non-existant Very weak marketing fundamentals Forced march to co-location killing morale

    IBM2019-04-25
Found 4658 reviews