IBM Marketing Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Marketing Analyst Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
15 Ratings
  1. "Awesome analysis project management guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Market Risk Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable, friendly, good pay for position

    Cons

    Inflexible, difficult to get meetings when needed

    IBM2019-08-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Full of old, authoritative, and didactic folks who don't know much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Performance Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good first job. stable-ish during recessions.

    Cons

    every stereotype you've heard about ibm is true. very old school, full of old people in 40-60's, who do not understand neither technology nor marketing, that either hate their own lives or content where they are (which was where they were 20 - 30 yrs ago).

    Advice to Management

    change the culture. you'll never be able to keep the young innovative talent from going to startups unless you actively weed out those who bring down the morale.

    IBM2019-05-07
  3. "Leading by Example"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love what I'm doing. I'm working in an area of the business that is exciting and new.

    Cons

    Co-location policy terrible decision ever. We lost a ton of talent and hard working, dedicated people.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow me the freedom and trust that I receive. This makes all the difference to be treated as a valued member and an SME in my current position.

    IBM2017-06-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Still innovative after all these years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Market Research Analyst in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - High quality colleagues, team rigor for new innovations and emerging business models - Great new Design agency and workshops for offerings - Push employees to stay continually educated on latest technologies and trends, examples: Think Fridays, Cognitive Build contest with far flung teaming opportunities, free Company Online courses

    Cons

    - Still too many layoffs, culling down employee population due to transition - Losing some great people due to some managers that aren't listening

    Advice to Management

    - Don't be tied to old overly conservative metrics for M&As - we lose out on opportunities - Keep investing in future tech, be bold

    IBM2016-08-24
  5. "Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Market Research Analyst in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Huge opportunity to learn insights about the tech industry. People is very friendly and try to explain very carefully the goals and objectives that you should pursued.

    Cons

    Growing inside the company is a very slow process. It is a huge corporation so the new opportunities are very competitive.

    IBM2014-03-04
  6. "Great people but we are not valued by senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research Analyst in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tons of smart people to work with. Looks good on your resume.

    Cons

    Employees considered "resources" by upper management. Executive focus is on higher earnings per share & stock price growth. Employee benefits are reduced each year, with virtually no salary increases and frequent rounds of layoffs targeting senior positions.

    Advice to Management

    Look at successful, growing companies and see how they value employees...the source of their innovation and growth. They are people with families, not resources.

    IBM2014-03-04
  7. "Great company with excellent benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule is great and education benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    The size of the organization often leaves the individual feeling disconnected with little face-to-face contact.

    IBM2013-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Market Research Analyst in Raleigh, NC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    intelligent people. mostly respect for employees.

    Cons

    all business. but now days most companies are

    Advice to Management

    continue to respect employees. take more of a leadership role in showing how important employees are to the company. IBM makes lots of money, show more sharing of the wealth

    IBM2012-05-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "The most horrible experience in my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Market Research Analyst in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    A large company with different types of positions available. Tele-working is the norm.

    Cons

    They perform "rolling lay-offs" EVERY quarter. Male dominated organization. Advertises a job to be something it isn't. Complete lack of respect toward employees. Top-heavy (C-suite and senior management HIGHLY overpaid!). Location is in the middle of nowhere. Teleworking is the norm, so you do not face to face very often, and you work weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Stop laying off workers that contribute to your quarterly earnings! Stop using language that is offensive to women and others. Stop hiring under the guise of positions that are descibed differently than what they actually are.

    IBM2012-05-22
  10. "Graduate with 1+ year of full time Market Research experience in IBM India pvt. Ltd. Expected job in same field."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research Analyst in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Work environment, easy management and facilities.

    Cons

    Very much less increment in salary per annum

    Advice to Management

    They can look after their employee satisfaction by giving good hike.

    IBM2019-05-14
Found 26 reviews