IBM Reviews in Melbourne | Glassdoor

IBM Melbourne Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
64 Ratings
  1. "Amazing.!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Team Leader in Melbourne

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, equal opportunities and recognition

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    IBM2018-04-25
  2. "great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Analyst in Melbourne

    I have been working at IBM for more than 2 years

    Pros

    people are nice and would always take time to assist and help out

    Cons

    work long hours and on weekends

    IBM2019-05-16
  3. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The networking opportunity is great.

    Cons

    The work challenge and work pace is bit slow

    IBM2018-10-28
  4. "Speak or Die :-)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Specialist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Flexibility of time and wide range self paced education.

    Cons

    You have to have good presentation skills and documentation skills to show what you are doing. Else, you may not get acknowledged or promoted.

    IBM2018-07-10
  5. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace to work at

    Cons

    Contract work which is a shame

    IBM2018-07-06
  6. "eBlueprint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning is very good. Employee friendly

    Cons

    Not exactly, it's too soon to comment

    IBM2018-06-22
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Sales in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great investment in people Opportunity for those whom apply themselves in skills growth

    Cons

    Transitional time moving during from traditional HW / SW / Services business to outcome aligned business units.

    IBM2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    IBMers are great people, many of whom I consider friends. Exceptional ability and experience is common. The work I do is exciting and often leading edge. Remuneration and insurances are better than most people think. When we come together, we are incredible. Outstanding professional development as a core part of working. Great work/life balance and usually will receive very strong support if need it (e.g. sick...

    Show More

    Cons

    Poor and competing metrics (utilisation, selling etc), mindless spreadsheet driven administration, huge bureaucracy, so much process that it is a wonder we ever get anything done, removal of support staff and transfer of their workload and the need to learn their processes is highly inefficient, always keen to over-engineer things, treat low utilisation of people as a synonym for low performance. So many redundancies,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If we sold more, we wouldn't get so wrapped up in all the administrative flotsam and jetsam. Stop drinking the coolade. Stop the metrics which impede our ability to perform in front of clients.

    IBM2018-04-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic environment, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    - average salary, negligible increments - no investment in training or upskilling - neverending cycles of resource action (redundancies) creates toxic environment - inept managers that get promotions just due to length of tenure but lack people management skills

    Advice to Management

    - put better skilled managers in place that can actually motivate employees

    IBM2018-05-05
  10. "GBS: amazing work but top heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Amazing work and products and varied opportunities. Some amazing people there. Employee perks around discounted shopping

    Cons

    Middle to top management are a very large barrier to change and prevents close interactions. Lack of transparency - again too many layers - and mismatched KPIs mean individuals are not aligned in their ultimate goals.

    Advice to Management

    KPIs need to be aligned to incentivise successful delivery across all levels, and not just sales. Also, bid work should count for something for utilisation purposes.

    IBM2018-04-09
Found 162 reviews