IBM Reviews in Montreal, QC | Glassdoor

IBM Montreal Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
12 Ratings
  1. "Good Company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Sales Representative in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Ecosystem to work with and very human mentality

    Cons

    Big company, sometimes it can be harder internally than externally.

    IBM2019-07-09
  2. "Great opportunity with a few culprits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Availablity Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Direct management is good (in my case) A lot of latitudes Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Contractor Frequent furlough Instability No long term opportunity to grow Indian teams are so inneficient, it's unbelievable!

    Advice to Management

    I find that using contractors is a waste of money. It cost a lot just to ensure the employee is not on the payroll. And then once you have someone good at his job, you let them go, that make no sense! The employee turnout is crazy because of the job instability, that leads to poor support to your customer and then you don't meet SLA and the customer is not happy. No one is winning in this situation!

    IBM2019-07-31
  3. "Consulting @ IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, Working with great minds, respectful of time, major projects, always learning and evolving, Tchnology first and foremost.

    Cons

    Too focused on technology and not on long term organisational impacts, non-stop travelling.

    IBM2019-07-05
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Desktop Support Technician in Montreal, QC

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a nice boss that inspired me to learn more about what I was doing and how to appeal to different stakeholders in the organization, allowing me to move up the ladder.

    Cons

    None! If you work hard, and are transparent and honest, you will be great. Don't be afraid to ask questions and learn from your peers.

    IBM2019-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "IBM - IT Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent team, coworkers, all ways willing to help one another.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, some management not technical enough.

    IBM2019-06-12
  6. "GOod reivew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good hours -flexible environment -opportunities for teamwork

    Cons

    -stressful at work -challenging to communicate with management

    IBM2019-03-05
  7. "Electrical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Developing my career and being the best in my field

    Cons

    Salary is very little and decision making is a low pace

    Advice to Management

    Respect to workers is very paramount

    IBM2019-03-07
  8. "Great to work for as the first Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAP Basis Administrator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will find a very good network in your field the company culture is very good and respectfull

    Cons

    There are some restrict policies which do not seem to be fair in terms of employment

    IBM2018-08-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "OK for a first experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    -Easy to get to the downtown location -Good training -Flexible dress code

    Cons

    -Not a stress free environment -Under payed -No benifice and possibility to advance

    Advice to Management

    -Underpaying your employees for the amount of work is not the solution especially from a company that net's over 10 billion a year in sales

    IBM2018-08-18
  10. "iX is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Montreal, QC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learn a lot on different industries, different technologies, different problems.

    Cons

    Red Tape, long processes

    IBM2018-07-09
Found 72 reviews