IBM Ops Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Ops Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
17 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst Co-Op in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    -Met with some of the most humble and inspirational Executives while working alongside extremely motivated and hard working people -Was involved in projects that directly benefited my division -Learned about Corporate Finance in a way that textbooks could have never taught me

    Cons

    -Sink or Swim; get ready to work hard from the first day here to your last

    IBM2019-01-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst Co-Op in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Felt fully immersed in the IBM culture and day-to-day activities even though it was only a Co-op and not a full-time position

    Cons

    Armonk is not the ideal place to work

    IBM2018-01-02
  3. "Software Engineering CoOp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Really open and inviting teams, with mentors and peers that pushed me to my limits. I was given as much work as I wanted while always feeling like a significant team contributor

    Cons

    Very complex corporate culture often seems that teams are in competition instead of collaboration

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to streamline projects earlier and keep up the good work!

    IBM2017-10-16
  4. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst Co-Op in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are good, friendly people

    Cons

    Pay is poor, management is bureaucratic

    IBM2017-09-12
  5. "Financial Analyst Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst Co-Op in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with a wonderful team were they all assisted me in developing new skills. I Developed crucial skills that will help as a progress in my career. Management is very accessible. They really see you as the future of the company and won't measure efforts to talk to you. My Co-op group had meetings with over 20 of IBM's top executives. It makes easier to understand company's goals and feel motivated to accomplish them....

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the interns didn't have managers that really cared about their development. The lack of structure threw some people off but I believe it added to the real work experience side of the co-op. No one instructs us in regards to future employment in case we want to stay with the company.

    Advice to Management

    Have a review midway through the co-op program and one at the end so we know if we meet your expectations

    IBM2017-08-03
  6. "Good and well co-ordinated team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Littleton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, New opportunities, Helpful people

    Cons

    Complex processes, no shuttles or public commute to Littleton

    IBM2017-08-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Co-op Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Software Engineer in Poughkeepsie, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    IBM is a very relaxed work environment, contrary to how most people think about it. They are really pushing to bring in new, younger talent and it shows.

    Cons

    There is a huge age gap between the senior technical people and the wave of new hires. The senior technical employees are very knowledgeable but you will find there are many people "stuck in the past."

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire new, young people. But also bring in more people in the middle of their career from elsewhere in industry.

    IBM2016-07-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Software Developer Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer Co Op in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work culture. Intern Events. Exposure to wide variety of teams working on wide variety of technologies and products.

    Cons

    Virtually impossible to move between teams. Lacks innovativeness. Not trustworthy. Declined me to join even after extending an offer initially. Some stupid reorganization keeps happening all the time.

    IBM2016-05-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Experiences may vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My overall experience has been good. Company laptop to work from home Make my own schedule aside from the scheduled weekly meetings Great pay for students Challenging work Understanding boss Appreciation for working hard ($4 raise when my contract was renewed for the Spring semester)

    Cons

    Working from home - when you're a student, learning a new language (node.js), and being new to web development, working from home can be very inefficient and result in hours wasted over many months of self-teaching while also producing. Other internships will sometimes include a mentorship program, or you're in the office, at the very least, with more knowledgeable coworkers nearby. Also, if we had to work in the office,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trim some fat. There are too many managers whose primary job is justifying the existence of their job. Not that they haven't heard this before, but Big Blue is a behemoth of a company and certainly moves like one.

    IBM2016-03-22
  10. "Good company for internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Run Team Software Developer Co-op in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers are helpful and they listen to what you want to learn.

    Cons

    Initial stage interns are not assigned work and they sit ideal for some period of time.

    IBM2016-03-09
Found 37 reviews