IBM Part Time Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Part Time Associate

IBM Part Time Associate Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 884 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
416 Ratings
  1. "Feast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a joy to devour IBM. Juices dripping richly down my chin and throat. Devouring the employee surplus, drinking deeply and expelling the processed mulch from my eager, earnest rect. Ah, to return and suck the marrow of the bloated titan's lifeblood out from its obliging jugular... Ah...

    Cons

    The garden of my life is richly fertilized with the fetid corpse of IBM, processed and sumptuous... the fruits borne by the garden pair well with the bread of my labors. I made sweet love to this company, and at night before I rest I remember fondly the time we shared.

    Advice to Management

    Lead the ancient company, now bloated and sagging, into the warm and welcoming arms of death.

    IBM2019-05-30
  2. "Great technology; people; opportunities - but too focused on short term revenue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn are fabulous. The company has more resources and technology (evidenced by patents) than nearly any other. If IBM chooses to, it can create a new market.

    Cons

    Over the past 4 years, there has been an increasing focus on short term results. Nearly everyone is turned into a "quota-based salesperson." This results in a confrontational and toxic environment, where people who used to collaborate try to compete and take resources and clients from one another.

    Advice to Management

    Analyze what brought Amazon and Apple where they now are and what put IBM into its recent position of 20+ quarters of declining revenue.

    IBM2019-05-21
  3. "Neutral about IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome and great benefits

    Cons

    Not good at employee apreciation

    Advice to Management

    Make people feel important

    IBM2019-05-24
  4. "Relentless sales pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy, ability to network internally

    Cons

    Relentless sales pressure. Losing ground to key rivals.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace the cloud!

    IBM2019-04-07
  5. "Not your fathers IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Partner 

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Working with smart people with diverse backgrounds Global teams working in a collaborative culture Work life balance

    Cons

    Used to be the technology leader but missed key market trends (i.e. cloud) and now playing catch up What happened to Watson? Constant layoffs Declining revenue Senior executives leaving for other companies

    IBM2019-03-28
  6. "It was an Absolute Pleasure to Work at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate Administrator 

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was only 16, yet they provided a welcoming environment for a scared intern who had never had a real job before. My tasks were very clear-cut, and I knew exactly what I had to do and when I had to do it. Overall, the staff were very friendly, and the vastness of the building made going to work exciting every day.

    Cons

    The only cons I can think of are just a few things that I didn't know how to do, being 16 years old at the time, that I'm sure most adults have learned over time at this point.

    IBM2019-03-20
  7. "IBM GBS is a technology vendor, not a consulting firm. Not a peer to Deloitte, Accenture, etc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great exposure to leading technologies, lots of very smart people

    Cons

    Does not value business expertise--in fact, it devalues it. No investment in business-oriented solutions. Can't talk to the CEO about real business challenges, so only sells shrink-wrapped solutions to the CIO (cloud, blockchain, security)

    Advice to Management

    Go to market around industry and business domain, rather than growth platform. Learn to value the people who can talk business issues with client leader.

    IBM2019-04-02
  8. "Sales Sales Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and great place to learn and connect with other companies.

    Cons

    Last 2 years the company has shifted most of its focus to selling and more selling. Lots of brilliant people and divisions let go.

    Advice to Management

    Need more balance of short and long-term investments. Current strategy trending toward mediocrity.

    IBM2019-03-25
  9. "Work style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Exposure to new technology, learning and large scale project experience

    Cons

    Bonus and salary rise not great due to declining growth

    IBM2019-03-07
  10. "Difficult Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovation, access to research and great people.

    Cons

    Disruptive transformation, too many layoffs, lack of focus on people.

    Advice to Management

    Consider taking some advice from Richard Branson, "take care of your people and they will take care of your customers".

    IBM2019-03-05
Found 884 reviews