IBM Reviews in Portugal | Glassdoor

IBM Portugal Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
6 Ratings
  1. "Where people unite to get it done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    One of the best parts of being an IBMer is the sense of belonging to a global team, where you always find someone to help you, teach you, coach you from anywhere around the world. Over the years I've had several extraordinary mentors who've taught me a great deal, both professionally as well as personally. IBM is a company that truly cares, as per the thousands of BR Groups created to promote a sense of inclusion to... its many diverse employees. I'd never hear of a company that would support and encourage our giveback to society in this way.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    IBM2017-01-04
  2. "Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Values, knowlefge Management, integrated company

    Cons

    Environment, legacy, old culture and fashioned

    Advice to Management

    Very hierarchical

    IBM2019-11-08
  3. "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineering in Lisbon

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, Excess of Work, No ending working hours.

    Cons

    Everything, Late payments, Low salaries.

    IBM2018-08-06
  4. "Could be much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Lisbon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's big, it's innovative and you'll always find someone to help you when you need.

    Cons

    Stalled Careers and salaries. Portuguese management doesn't seem empowered.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employees. They will focus on your clients.

    IBM2017-09-04
  5. "Sales Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Lisbon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance in Ilness

    Cons

    Recognition only for sales job roles

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on reportees and less on upper levels

    IBM2016-06-01
  6. "nice to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility as a graduate, different jobs and roles. I have become PM after one year at the Job.

    Cons

    No guidance, no graduate program. You have to take care of everything on your own.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing and promoting graduates, thts the only way to the future. Innovate and do not over rely on sap, ams, etc

    IBM2015-08-31
  7. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service in Alcabideche
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Good friendly environment , training and benefits

    Cons

    Only 1 year contract with no possibility of becoming permanent

    IBM2015-07-21
  8. "Nice place to work but company left Lisbon."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry Operator in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment, nice office in central Lisbon, informal office culture. Paid overtime.

    Cons

    I worked there as a contractor. Activities were being displaced to India.

    IBM2015-02-24
  9. "Opportunity to growth and gain market visibility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good paycheck and benefits Work in a company where IT processes are mature and best practices are implemented. Project oriented company, great to work on projects, Capability go help customers to improve their IT departments.

    Cons

    To much of beurocrathic procedures turn the company work slow and inflexible. Lately, due to cost reduction salary raises where not happenning and a actually there was an effort to reduce headcount.

    Advice to Management

    Invest on simplification and you'll get a more produtive and less expensive company.

    IBM2014-07-30
  10. "Good to work for, if you're able to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Benefits of a global enterprise with a strong position in the market and the clients - Salary and benefits are not top, but still competitive - Work performance is really valued (depends on the management, but it's usual) - Growth opportunities exist, altough it'll require a lot of extra work

    Cons

    - Too many directives and standards - Although it's not a cut-throat environment, there are lots of pressure to reduce costs (meaning people) - Some people work a lot, others not so much; the first are rewarded if they're lucky, if they're unfortunate they'll be listed for non-renovation anyway, but not all the bad employees are on the leave list - Not the most friendly environment; not talking about costume... parties, or after hours parties, but it tends to be a very neutral environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Although the US pressure is for an ever increasing share profit, client value will suffer in meantime, at least if you exclude growth countries.Also I believe expectations are set that are not achievable with such a low resource count (even worse if they're not that good sometimes).

    IBM2013-02-04
Found 12 reviews