IBM Quality Assurance Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Quality Assurance Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
20 Ratings
  1. "Great friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    The freedom to work how you want on projects

    Cons

    none it was a great experience

    IBM2013-02-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Quality assurance engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, well put together teams.

    Cons

    No incentive to move up in the company and few opportunities to do so.

    IBM2018-03-31
  3. "Working for IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Specialist in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Still retains some level of respect for the individual Good salary ranges Decent benefits Many work from home positions

    Cons

    Continuous change in organizational structure Poor leadership at the CEO level

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the ways that made IBM successful in the first place. Be a leader, not a follower, by taking on the business opportunities before competitors do.

    IBM2016-09-29

    IBM Response

    December 22, 2016Program Consultant - IBMer Engagement

    Thank you for your feedback and thoughtful comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our great benefits. We are in the midst of a major transformation and this includes pursuing new opportunities and business areas to respond to emerging client needs.

  4. "Good learning in Analytics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Analytics, good manager. Helpful people

    Cons

    Too many processes, bad hiring process, quality of engineers not too good

    Advice to Management

    Get aggressive, do some good hiring and have a vision

    IBM2016-07-15
  5. "QA Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Intern in Irvine, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Really friendly and supportive people in my team. Have been working as an Intern since six months and have nothing to complain about. It entirely depends on what team you get to work with and how well you manager communicated your responsibilities to you and make sure you are not lost as an Intern (Which usually is bound to happen eventually).

    Cons

    A bigger facility with some recreation activities would have been great to motivate the employees.

    IBM2015-11-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Smoke and Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salaries, some flexibility in hours.

    Cons

    Too many to name. Smoke and mirrors management and performance results. IBM is run like a bad government. Waste everywhere, spend money on things that don't matter and not where it counts. They especially don't value quality.

    Advice to Management

    Grow a spine and manage like you should.

    IBM2015-09-02
  7. "The early years were great, the last several years were stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working from home has been the biggest benefit lately.

    Cons

    Always seem to be worried about next RA and how to stay off the list, raises few and far between, little or no bonuses, working to all hours.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on stock price, build a business that provides value to the customer. Put the customer and employees first, the stock price will follow. I was once told by an ex-IBMer Good Business is good for everybody. Go back to that belief and IBM can once again be a great company both to work for and to do business with.

    IBM2015-03-05
  8. "It could've been better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Clean, great benefits, lots of people, busy, innovative, motivating, lots of opportunities

    Cons

    It was very stressful at times. Sometimes they wanted me to work overtime when I have already requested time off. There were some inappropriate behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people! Need more leadership and clear expectations.

    IBM2014-06-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sweat shop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Dubuque, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a large company and if you are lucky or rub elbows with the right people you can get out of IBM Dubuque and possibly into the real IBM.

    Cons

    IBM Dubuque is a very undesirable location for more than one reason. It's easy to get in but very difficult to get out of IBM Dubuque and remain in IBM.

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared to work, work, work and then go to work.

    IBM2014-04-15
  10. "A beaurocratic environment. Opportunities for those who can learn to work within this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Assurance Engineer in Littleton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Corporate policies value equality. Teams are often flexible about telecommuting and vacation time. Opportunities to learn skills working with large corporate customers across the globe. Opportunities to work with many internal teams and skilled coworkers.

    Cons

    One must learn to seek out new growing projects and move to them as downsizing of groups is always a reality. Management doesn't seem to have a plan on how to realign after a downsizing. Ratings system is based on distinguishing oneself against one's peers instead of the quality of the work on it's own.

    IBM2013-11-07
Found 48 reviews