IBM Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46768 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
17,329 Ratings
  1. "Great vision and people, lacking in managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAP Hybris Developer in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed coworkers, the software I worked with interesting, and benefits were pretty great. Would be a perfect job for me if it wasn't for inept management.

    Cons

    Severe lack in effective management and leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Work with your mid-level managers as they are lacking in the ability to effectively run huge teams. There needs to be a better distribution of work and more incentive.

    IBM2019-09-16
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of learning tools and resources to help you perform better. Great group of coworkers.

    Cons

    Salary could've been better. Hopefully things have changed.

    Advice to Management

    None

    IBM2019-09-16
  3. "A great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - great culture - awesome teammates - fast paced environment - quality work - great 401k match, benefits, PTO - agile environment

    Cons

    - okay management - almost no transparency from higher ups - trying to offshore everything

    IBM2019-09-16
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of neat stuff to work on.

    Cons

    Remote work not in office with others

    Advice to Management

    Keep the course

    IBM2019-09-16
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work culture and work environment.

    Cons

    Issues with transparency from management.

    IBM2019-09-16
  6. "Great company to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tons of work and opportunities.

    Cons

    Sometime may need work off hours

    IBM2019-09-15
  7. "good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing 

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    great place to work in the triangle

    Cons

    management can be difficult and not trusting

    IBM2019-09-14
  8. "Great place and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Software Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work locations, work from home, etc

    Cons

    slow moving company. needs to adapt to newer culture and get a new breed of top management.

    IBM2019-09-13
  9. "Great place to start and end your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    IBM has it's own culture which works well for big blue. I started my career in IT at the help-desk and navigated to my last position of Service Delivery Manager. Tons of opportunity if you are willing to adapt to change. Very talented people to collaborate with.

    Cons

    Like most large corporations there is a lot of expansion when business is good but there is also contraction when business is not so good. Keep skills sharp and move around frequently to prevent staleness of responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to recognize value in the average employee not just management.

    IBM2019-09-13
  10. "It’s great for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay for starters there

    Cons

    Little room for growth there

    IBM2019-09-13
Found 46768 reviews
</>Embed