IBM Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45440 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
16935 Ratings
  1. "IBM - Still good on many levels!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great co-workers Caring company Depending on Team and BU - can be good /average

    Cons

    Too many layers between management Appraisal cycles not to industry standard

    IBM2019-07-19
  2. "Old-school tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisory Associate in Calgary, AB
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some long-timers in the upper ranks. Good for getting mentorship. There is some in-house chaos. It sort of prepares you for complex client environments. The company is focused on future technologies.

    Cons

    Sometimes the dynamics between people became much more important than the work. There was a simple objective to operate while further lowering costs. The details of the means were crude. It created other problems.

    Advice to Management

    The actual workhorses are occasionally demotivated due to unusual expectations or false promises or both.

    IBM2019-07-19
  3. "Tough to navigate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and very social

    Cons

    Impossible to navigate the internal processes Multiple random 'boxes' to tick for promotions etc Sales team who oversell projects that are tough to deliver Terrible pay vs. the market

    Advice to Management

    Remove as much red tape as possible!

    IBM2019-07-19
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Intern 

      I have been working at IBM part-time

      Pros

      they have excellent management. Very nice

      Cons

      I did not find any cons.

      IBM2019-07-19
    • "Good Money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at IBM full-time

        Pros

        Good salary I would recommend for money

        Cons

        Micromanaged at times but not a bad place to work for

        IBM2019-07-19
      • "Great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Advisory IT Specialist in Petaling Jaya
        Recommends

        I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great flexibility, great people, encourages career growth..

        Cons

        Nothing significant to mention here

        IBM2019-07-19
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - IT Operations Lead in Bangalore
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        1. Nice work atmosphere 2. Lots of learning 3. WFH

        Cons

        1. Bad Management 2. Salary

        Advice to Management

        Please allow employees to move internally if they have opportunity. Don't stop their growth.

        IBM2019-07-19
      • "good for beginners in IT"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - IT Specialist in Brno
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        not stressful work, good work life balance options

        Cons

        big corporation with all the negatives - mainly bureaucracy, slow processes and changes

        IBM2019-07-19
      • "Devops & Cloud Migration Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at IBM full-time

          Pros

          work culture of ibm is very good

          Cons

          lesser work as expected, sitting idle mostly

          IBM2019-07-19
        • "Sr Test Analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Test Analyst in Pune
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Good company to work for IT professionals. Work from home option. Very good and helpful team members. Good work life balance.

          Cons

          Salary not par with Market

          IBM2019-07-19
        Found 45440 reviews