IBM Reviews in Rochester, NY | Glassdoor

IBM Rochester Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
8%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
8 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Everything was great about this company.

    Cons

    Nothing really to talk about. They did everything right. GO IBM

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    IBM2016-06-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "No Loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits, diversity programs

    Cons

    No loyalty to employees. Many above average employees are laid off as the company continues to focus on cost reductions in the face of little revenue growth.

    IBM2018-06-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "ETL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ETL in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with

    Cons

    No longer customer focused.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your people like people. Say what we do do what we say. You say the customer comes first. Start putting the focus back on that.

    IBM2018-01-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in West Henrietta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 3 years

    Pros

    unlimited paid sick leaves relaxed work but tedious jobs

    Cons

    micro management of time no bonus or increment over year though you are the best performer

    Advice to Management

    stop micro managing with bunch of time slot fillings

    IBM2016-05-12
  5. "IBM SDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Pittsford, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good benefits

    Cons

    heavily reducing workforce in u.s. to send overseas.

    IBM2015-10-07
  6. "Awsome company with helpful co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    IBM is vast knowledge of ocean, there are great learning and career opportunities within the company if you are willing to learn and take initiatives. Your co-workers will always be willing to help you in a friendly manner. Overall a great company to work for!

    Cons

    As such I did'nt have any negative experiences at IBM

    IBM2015-08-29
  7. "An unhappy employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    80% of employees work from home. If you happen to be a long-timer, you are likely in a decent pension plan.

    Cons

    Every move in the company seems to be a "lateral move". Raises are becoming a thing of the past. Productivity is beat to death as employees are working longer hours than ever before. Company is process heavy. Employee roles are "silo-ed". Too many chiefs, not enough Indians.

    IBM2014-06-23
  8. "IBM is a good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Systems Management Specialist in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with were excellent. Very well put together team. Good work/personal life balance. Working from home was great. Good benefits. People may find IBM worth looking into.

    Cons

    There was not a lot of room to diversify, at least from was I was doing. The project management team did not seem as knowledgeable or job savvy as some I have worked with.

    Advice to Management

    IBM tended to let very high production employees go in favor of not so productive ones with I found disturbing.

    IBM2014-04-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Company provides personal laptop for all employees which is a plus for working remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispute Analyst in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well established structural. Good place to work if you have technical degrees or Master or PhD.

    Cons

    Not much growth for low pay finance workers since company is outsourcing to India.

    IBM2013-12-19
  10. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Operations Analyst in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always able to move up the ladder, take on new work.

    Cons

    IBM decided to outsource work to India, China and Mexico

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as people

    IBM2013-10-28
Found 13 reviews