IBM Reviews in Schaumburg, IL | Glassdoor

IBM Schaumburg Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
6 Ratings
  1. "partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    breadth of the company

    Cons

    too large to effectively transform quickly in this day and age

    Advice to Management

    too many layers

    IBM2018-08-02
  2. "It is what you make it, and YOU can make it great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Account Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Education and training, benefits, amazing peers, variety of assignments, flexibility in managing your schedule and your life.

    Cons

    If you don't manage your career and/or try to make right what you see as wrong, you won't have a great experience.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget the value people bring from OUTSIDE IBM.

    IBM2019-02-04
  3. "How is IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Administrator in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Lot of things a person can learn with great career opportunities

    Cons

    The pay grade is much lesser compared to market

    IBM2017-11-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Worldwide Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worked with some great colleagues with an opportunity to lean from employer | clients alike to build skills and intellectual capital. Historically focused on being a loyal and integrity-driven company, though that has changed over time. Still would recommend accepting an offer of employment, but look at it as a way to get experience and move on - no longer a long-term career choice.

    Cons

    Leadership invests too much into stock buy-backs and not enough into solutions. Truly a quarter-by-quarter decision company with great commercials but weak long-term strategy. Big move to bring in Millennials at the expense of seasoned Professionals; finding the latter lack the skills, motivation and loyalty to carry the company forward. Technology is not well-integrated, and Cloud offerings often lack functionality.

    Advice to Management

    Don't believe current Leadership is looking for advice. Based on recent stock | financial performance the best bet may be for 2nd | 3rd Line Management who want to stay to hold out hope for next Leadership team. A frequent comment heard by current | former associates in the trenches is 'moving deck chairs on the Titanic'.

    IBM2017-08-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "customer rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    IBM was a great place to work. The employee benefits are awesome

    Cons

    Resource action, globally train csr's to take over US jobs.

    IBM2017-05-09
  6. "Company restructuring with new blood and flushing experienced skilled high paid workers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities to grow a career. I changed careers 3 times during my tenor at IBM and did not lose my seniority or pay. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Company getting out of services during this transition and do not seem to care about impact to our customers. Was sad to watch thousands of hard working dependable skilled people being slowly let go for shareholders. Replacements are clueless. If you are US based, you may need to be leery of working here.

    Advice to Management

    Hope execs made a good decision for this century old company. If not they slowly destroyed it.

    IBM2016-10-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "IBM Global Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middleware Architect in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with on all accounts.

    Cons

    Upper management has stripped the core of successful customer service

    Advice to Management

    Start thinning the herd at the top

    IBM2016-04-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company gone bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opprotunity to use some new technologies

    Cons

    Lack of Job security

    Advice to Management

    Promote or kick everyone out, don't let us sit on the fence each quarter.

    IBM2015-11-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "IBM does not pay well if you work your way up the ranks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working at home. Challenging projects.

    Cons

    Constant worry about being laid off because they move so many jobs off shore. Raises are far and few between and pretty lean. Plan to work 12-14 hour days and weekends. No work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Reward employees for their experience and contributions. If you promote someone let their salary reflect that. Peers shouldn't be paid according to their job title and their contributions. When I worked at IBM I was probably making 50% less than my peers because I worked my way up to be a project manager but I always out performed my peers.

    IBM2013-02-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I thought it would be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At the time I worked for them, they allowed telecommuting, they no longer do that.

    Cons

    They have done too much outsourcing and become way to large and are no longer dynamic, trying to get anything done is almost impossible. Trying to get training, any suggestions to the right folks, is just not a possibility. It is unfortunate as this used to be a bleeding edge company and now lives off of its former reputation.

    Advice to Management

    You have lost your edge as a company, you need to retool

    IBM2012-12-03
Found 11 reviews