IBM Senior Architect Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Architect

IBM Senior Architect Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
70 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "This is not your daddy's IBM!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Architect in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IBM brings together an amazing array of technology as the basis of real, practical solutions that power Earth's commerce. Some people still think of IBM as "that mainframe company", but today's IBM has been transformed into an agile, leading edge technology creator. As an IBMer, it is amazing to be able to pick up the phone and chat with the very people who are creating and shaping tomorrow. Blockchain, quantum... computing, cognitive computing, and countless other technologies are real-world here. Yes, we still sell some big iron; but (surprise!) it runs Linux!

    Show More

    Cons

    No way to hide it -- IBM is a big enterprise, with nearly a half million employees around the world. It isn't a startup!

    IBM2017-04-19
  2. "Senior IT Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Architect in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    available training , good people, but management is terrible

    Cons

    low pay, upper management are cut throat, no value for people

    Advice to Management

    value your employees. hire and train the best

    IBM2019-09-06
  3. "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Architect in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for working mothers, flexibility

    Cons

    Salaries not as competitive

    Advice to Management

    People are your strength

    IBM2019-08-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Red Tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my coworkers. On site cafeteria and Starbucks. IBM has events to attend if you can find time outside of work.

    Cons

    Agile workspaces, lots of red tape to get anything done, contact worry of layoffs

    IBM2019-07-09
  5. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with a great team

    Cons

    Strategic direction of company is always changing

    IBM2019-07-04
  6. "Good Company - Lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Architect in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large company full of great people and management Different areas of company are vastly different. Research and Development is awesome

    Cons

    Large company - no longer the best but still has good bones.

    Advice to Management

    Wish IBM was still a household name. Millennials and younger don't know who they are.

    IBM2019-05-30
  7. "A Good Place to Build a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Architect 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Strong culture, that is mostly positive. - Get to work and learn from very talented people. - Able to learn and get immerse with technology. Ability

    Cons

    - Sales and Finance rules the IBM World. - Many good technical initiatives and innovation gets killed, or minimized due to lack of funding. - Lack of vision from executives, unable to truly compete with newer tech companies.

    Advice to Management

    As of late, a lot of good technical talent is getting resourced action. I feel the company is losing a lot of intellectual capital.

    IBM2019-06-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sad to see a great company in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Architect in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Career advancement for the right personality type. IBM could work for you if you are a schmoozer and you value moving up the ranks more than product quality or ensuring long-term success. * Pay is competitive. * There are pockets of great people. Finding the right group is critical.

    Cons

    * What IBM says publicly does not match how they actually manage their business. If you care about honesty and long term success, IBM will not work for you. * IBM is totally focused on short term results. This is frequently achievable only through constant cost-cutting, making it impossible to produce competitive products, particularly those that require long term vision and development. * This cost-cutting... approaches ridiculous extremes. By the time I left IBM, it was essentially impossible to acquire extra RAM for my workstation. I had to buy my own copies of productivity software such as MS Office so that I could work with the formats required by our customers. * IBM incentivizes upper management to change positions frequently. This results in those execs having no long-term investment in their business unit. * IBM does not support remote employees. Yet at the same time, they build teams consisting of people from multiple time zones, requiring everyone to be on conference calls all day and work ridiculous hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Continue to narrow the focus, while fully investing in the areas you retain. * Big vision requires big investment and time to achieve returns, so for those types of projects, change your funding model and your revenue targets. * Listen to the senior people who are telling you the reality of what is required to get a product or service to market. * Stop pinching pennies. Enable your workforce to get... the job done with the right tools. * Get contemporary with remote/mobile employment. * Stop spreading projects across multiple continents.

    Show More
    IBM2019-05-08
  9. "IBM sinking fast with no respect for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Data Warehouse Architect 

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are slightly above average

    Cons

    Work 16 hrs a day with no understanding $0 bonuses unless your the CEO

    IBM2019-05-10
  10. "Senior IT Architect - Cognitive Solution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Architect in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Excellent Opportunities Worklife Balance 401K benefits Learning Career Development

    Cons

    Salary Promotions Mainly IBM products Mishandled Projects No Bonus

    Advice to Management

    Retain skills

    IBM2019-03-25
Found 149 reviews