IBM Senior Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Senior Project Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 261 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
126 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for with lots of good benefits.

    Cons

    You have to be an over-achiever to move ahead and to keep a good rating.

    IBM2016-10-19
  2. "Dhruba"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home flexibility , good learning , huge knowledge base, diverse areas you can seek work

    Cons

    Slow growth , not best compensation , politics

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent to employees , be good to good employees, respect employees

    IBM2016-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    IBM has some of the brightest minds in IT consulting and incredible learning opportunities.

    Cons

    IBM struggles to find a balance between resource availability and financial expectations. In other words, IBM has not figured out the cost/benefit equation of the bench.

    IBM2016-10-04

    IBM Response

    December 22, 2016Program Consultant - IBMer Engagement

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience hasn’t been the best. We are constantly working to improve the employee experience.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility if you are able to work from home.

    Cons

    Quarterly layoffs. Company does not value experienced skilled employees.

    IBM2016-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible work schedule, employees are allowed to work on their own and not micro managed, pay is average for the industry

    Cons

    Too much work is done off shore in order to save money so have to be able to work with less qualified workers and walk them through details of the job

    IBM2016-09-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, smart and motivated. Interesting work on new technologies.

    Cons

    Executives focused on careers, not on company success. Significant overtime. Focus has really shifted from investing in personnel for success to watching the bottom line.

    IBM2016-08-30
  7. "Process heavy, non-stimulating, boring jobs. But stable jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home whenever. Good enough employee perks. Stable jobs.

    Cons

    Ask anyone who "likes" her/his job at IBM, and the response would be like: I can work from home. Or that I love the Family Leave policy. And it's a stable job. But almost never will you hear responses like: My work is very interesting. I'm learning a lot. I'm surrounded by smart people.

    IBM2016-09-26
  8. "IBM GBS - 20 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to be involved with many leading edge technologies and approaches - IF you extend yourself. Some flexible working hours and locations Opportunity to travel extensively Industry standard compensation

    Cons

    Often long hours If consulting, very high billable hours targets (impossible to achieve hours, mandatory training and encouraged vacation) Poor assessment rating system. Very poor incentives for high achievement. Poor annual compensation increases Annual layoffs, everyone always at risk.

    Advice to Management

    Many good managers. Many poor managers. Take care of your people! Plan for annual layoffs so that good team members are not laid off. Use senior subject matter experts as mentor of junior team members.

    IBM2016-09-03
  9. "Big Blue Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Still growing and expanding into new markets Good pay and above average benefits Global opportunities

    Cons

    Outsourcing and 'right-sizing' in all areas Some organizational do not allow employee movement out of organization. Future employee growth is limited to younger staff and those in specific divisions.

    Advice to Management

    Not all divisions in IBM are treated the same with pay and benefits, as well as employee developmental growth. Not a single 'IBM' but one of multiple 'sub-companies' that are treated differently.

    IBM2016-07-21
  10. "IBM is a Lousy Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Piscataway, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very large company that has business around the world.

    Cons

    IBM is always looking to replace Americans with people from their India center who make a lot less money. I was re[laced by 2 Indians.

    IBM2016-07-21
Found 261 reviews