IBM Solution Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Solution Consultant

IBM Solutions Consultant Reviews

Updated 25 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
40 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Package Solution Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, work atmosphere, benefits and travel policies.

    Cons

    Hiring process takes a while to complete.

    IBM2017-10-24
  2. "Great colleagues, too much bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the smartest colleagues I have ever worked with. The ability to share ideas & have discussions about problem solving was refreshing.

    Cons

    Like any company of this size, the bureaucracy and politics can get depressing at times. Promotion can be very slow.

    Advice to Management

    Let people do what they excel in.

    IBM2019-06-05
  3. "Great Entry Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are good, management is professional and hands-off

    Cons

    Salary does not increase much at all over time, too many reorgs and layoffs

    Advice to Management

    Adapt to IBM’s style of management if you join as part of an acquisition.

    IBM2019-05-08
  4. "solutions lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Solutions Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    comfortable, decent autonomy,

    Cons

    minimal growth path, redundant work,

    IBM2018-09-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "You can go anywhere with this company, except further in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Package Solution Consultant in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are projects and opportunities for work all over the world.

    Cons

    Leadership (from the top down to the lowest-level managers) only worries about chasing after every dollar they can squeeze out of clients. There is a lot of talk about being able to go anywhere with your career within the company, but that's only possible if your career lines up perfectly with the current strategic focus of the company, which keeps changing.

    IBM2018-05-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solutions Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Package Solution Consultant in Daytona Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are great.

    Cons

    Layoffs are CONSTANT! They cycle people in and out at astonishing quantities.

    Advice to Management

    Last year, IBM hired and fired 70,000 employees including aquisitions like me. It will likely be similar this year. The efforts made to place individuals in other positions instead of laying them off are for appearance only. Come up with an incentive for mgrs to hire current employees before laying them off. Imagine the hours of training that were paid to those 70,000 people that were both fired and hired...140....000 people went through the required hours and hours of training that take place in the first few months of employment. I can't image how they throw that kind of money away yearly with no thought.

    Show More
    IBM2017-08-16
  7. "Tranforming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Talented and ambitious people that want to make the world better.

    Cons

    Takes some time to find work life balance.

    IBM2017-03-20
  8. "solution package consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Package Solution Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good platform great people, you can learn a lot

    Cons

    salary sad...the system is too complicated

    Advice to Management

    none

    IBM2017-01-31
  9. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Package Solution Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility; Ability to work from home; Good base compensation

    Cons

    Large & complex; Infrequent salary increases; Limited bonus opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push "Design Thinking" with our customers. - This will increase strategic engagement with our existing customers and help us design more customer-centric solutions.

    IBM2017-01-04
  10. "IBM Global Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Package Solution Consultant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work to experience large scale project. IBM takes care of the employees. Good and fair review system.

    Cons

    Large organization. You can sometime feel lost.

    Advice to Management

    More interaction with employees.

    IBM2016-12-08
Found 93 reviews