IBM Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Specialist Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
995 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Boulder, CO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Comraderie was great between my team

    Cons

    slow growth leads to boredom

    IBM2020-03-09
  2. "Security Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Security Specialist in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is a plus

    Cons

    Yearly bonus could be better

    IBM2020-03-21
  3. "Run."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PR Specialist in Yorktown Heights, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great historical relevance and brand name

    Cons

    I set out at IBM to be a strong PR leader who can work & thrive in a fast-paced environment and do needle-moving storytelling. When I interviewed and was eventually hired, I was told my media chops would be welcomed and embraced but that hasn't been the case. My tenure at IBM Research has been marked by negativity, managers who pick favorites and allow only a chosen few to do compelling work while people like me who are not favored, get few opportunities and new chances to learn. I am not alone.

    Continue reading
    IBM2020-03-23
  4. "Great Program, Excited to Continue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Sales Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Curriculum in teachings within Program (started in the Summit Program) - High Flexibility for work/life balance - lots of movement possibilities

    Cons

    - large organization sometimes has slow moving parts - working with other business units can be tricky sometimes as you will end up competing for clients with other internal teams

    Continue reading
    IBM2020-03-06
  5. "ibm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Specialist in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great company for graduate students

    Cons

    none to be very honest

    IBM2020-02-25
  6. "Unhealthy work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Sales Specialist 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits I liked my colleagues and we all worked well together

    Cons

    No remote working, which is absurd in a company that sells cloud and security solutions. Very toxic working environment, always wondering when the axe will fall from a company perspective, not the group per se. Company is run by accountants and lawyers and they are *always* culling groups....very demotivating. Hire college grads (summit hires) and replace the experienced employees with the Millennial to save on salary and benefits.

    IBM2020-03-30
  7. "AMAZING team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the team I'm on. Great pay, innovative environment, no complaints.

    Cons

    NONE, love this place so much

    IBM2020-02-21
  8. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Specialist in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    World of resources available to employees

    Cons

    No longer concerned about customer

    Continue reading
    IBM2020-03-06
  9. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Engagement Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love IBM <3, I can find the perfect work/life balance and great environment for growth. The culture is woderfull, great collaboration between colleagues and management helps to create the best place to work.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    IBM2020-02-14
  10. "High level of apathy at this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support Specialist in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers typically don't police or aren't even present much of the time

    Cons

    Weird office environment, mostly low lifes working there; managers work from home but don't allow their employees to work from home. High level of hypocrisy and apathy. Virtually no training, no communication on what's going on. Very disorganized, every man for himself. No support

    Continue reading
    IBM2020-03-17
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2412 Reviews