IBM Student Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Student Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
14 Ratings
  1. "Summit Intern Technical Solutions Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - good pay, relocation stipend - strong manager and mentor base, lots of people to help and guide you through the summer - assigned to a team and fully immersed in that team's portfolio - you learn all about the sales cycle - great opportunity to network with full time summits, experienced sellers and other people in company

    Cons

    - lots of independent work and down time - housing and transportation is not provided, so definitely budget a lot and bring your lunch!

    Advice to Management

    Give your intern long term AND short term projects to keep them busy! Remember to invite them to all meetings, especially client-facing ones and include them on all email chains.

    IBM2018-08-01
  2. "SQL DBA at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, approachable management, Flexible work hours

    Cons

    Slow growth, Low compensation, Domain specific

    IBM2017-03-13
  3. "Summer Research Student Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Research Student in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Excellent work environment. Working with top scientific researchers.

    Cons

    The location is far from the main city. However if you have a car, this may not be a problem.

    IBM2016-04-15
  4. "MS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, I left to go pursue a Masters but I plan on coming back. I worked with semiconductors in New Jersey.

    Cons

    The work can be very unexiciting. I hope to one day come back but work with a different team on a different project

    Advice to Management

    organize more things outside of the office to encourage team bonding and group bonding. It will increase productivity.

    IBM2015-12-17
  5. "Security Delivery Specilaist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management, Learning, Positive Environment, Adaptable

    Cons

    No downsides noticed as such

    Advice to Management

    No comments

    IBM2019-02-10
  6. "Big company, low payment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Big company, with lots of networking -Comfortable place to work

    Cons

    -Strict dress code -Low payment (many smaller companies pay more for the same job)

    IBM2018-12-26
  7. "Operations Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Taipei
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    the company gave me a lot power to do things, made me show my ability.

    Cons

    i think everything is great for me

    IBM2018-09-28
  8. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company should enable rapid growth in my career

    Cons

    Where there is no growth in the company and acknoledgement too.

    Advice to Management

    no comments

    IBM2018-07-03
  9. "Master Thesis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Thesis Student in Zürich

    I have been working at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Dynamic and stimulant environment, Possibility for publications and patents.

    Cons

    Master thesis are not paid.

    IBM2018-07-02
  10. "Operations Business Controls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Masters Student in Malahide
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment Great colleagues Good location

    Cons

    Lack of guidance No opportunities to progress

    IBM2017-12-19
Found 34 reviews