IBM Reviews in Sydney | Glassdoor

IBM Sydney Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
121 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CIO Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Progessive policies on minorities, leave and flexible working

    Cons

    You do need up to date technical skills around cloud, AI and industry solutions

    IBM2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Breadth of business operations. Inhouse education available."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CIO Services Leader, Asia Pacific in Sydney
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Breadth of business operations. Inhouse education available.

    Cons

    Complexity of organisation, US organisation focus.

    IBM2019-09-28
  3. "Company in flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Architect in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to travel, good learning, good support

    Cons

    Company is struggling right now

    IBM2019-09-18
  4. "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be interesting work at times

    Cons

    As a consultant you are delivering on impossible dreams sold by the salesman who has taken his massive bonus and has moved on

    IBM2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It’s getting much better but has some work to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IBM in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Some of the brightest minds I have ever worked with, and some great people with incredible stories! Products are finally being leaned down to match the strengths of IBM; I think the company was trying too hard to capture every market, industry & product offering in the past years - ultimately leading to underperforming and silo’d lines of business, glad it’s getting better. The culture is heading in the right... direction (For both clients and employees), I have seen a great peak in positive engagement. Need to push our core capabilities further; cloud, services, robust hardware, best-in-class encryption & security, unparalleled client-centricity

    Show More

    Cons

    “Smile” - even if you need to force it Ridiculed for being ambitious and wanting to put the client first, a lot of focus is put on doing the right thing for the business rather than the client, it should be balanced. Sales teams only care about “what we get paid on” - which is an appalling attitude and business strategy; a salesperson should be there to grow IBMs portfolio and business, this also led to poor... integration and collaboration, fundamentally leading to poor delivery Many newcomers are frowned upon for not immediately overachieving in a brand new territory or industry, and have no formal training or structure upon commencement - it’s a steep uphill battle for them. Ridiculous amounts of favouritism leading to laughable promotions and inexperienced role alignment while others do the grunt work and are undervalued. Has seen some significant team players turn a page and move on Middle management is unnecessary and overemphasises their ability to add value to employees or the IBM ecosystem, akin to Dunning-Kruger. Some of the Sales functions, such as the development reps are not integrated, nor do they have a significant contribution to the business Your salary is a made up of complex algorithms, confusing metrics with a sprinkle of fairy dust; don’t expect to understand what you get paid - or be able to seek clarity, because no one internally even knows what it should be. Sales quotas are not at all aligned to business strategy; i.E. Paid on underperforming BUs and underpaid on long term strategic initiatives.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cull the middle management; they’re largely unproductive and come at a large cost, invest it back into frontline employees. Put the client first, or at least try to.

    IBM2019-08-24
  6. "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I strongly believe the company is the most ethical and comfortable place to be. A large pile of portfolio and projects you can get benefits from.

    Cons

    It’s a large organisation so things moving not in a pace if you pursue your career growth quickly. Also it takes time to understand the processes to get what you want. Some mgmt can be very be bureaucratic. Also pay scale is not the top in the market

    Advice to Management

    In order to achieve transition and transformation mgmt needs to be always on the edge of learning new things.

    IBM2019-08-21
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovation, great people, flexibility, diversity, career-oriented

    Cons

    Layers of process, can be long hours

    IBM2019-07-26
  8. "Toxic Company But I Learn a Lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working - can work from home Learn a great deal from smart people Training is available especially for cloud

    Cons

    Toxic workplace with terrible management interested looking as good as possible Work life balance leaves a lot to be desired Reduced numbers of people every quarter to perform the same workload Few benefits and lower than market salaries

    Advice to Management

    You have no idea.

    IBM2019-08-06
  9. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working good training

    Cons

    Extremely toxic culture & bullying

    IBM2019-07-29
  10. "comparrison review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Global company and the name carry's weight

    Cons

    Processess internally are very protracted

    IBM2019-07-08
Found 249 reviews