IBM Systems Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Systems Specialist Reviews

Updated 29 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
6 Ratings
  1. "Systems Management Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Management Specialist in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home, Large Corporation, decent benefits

    Cons

    Education and promotions are at a minimum, even with outstanding reviews

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your employees, provide education, give more promotions...

    IBM2016-04-19
  2. "System Management Integration Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Management Integration Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IBM has a lot of employees that are loyal and have stayed with the company a long time. They offer very good benefits and are a long standing company. They are very professional and require high performance and professionalism.

    Cons

    IBM has yearly layoffs and the bonus structure and pay is very low compared to other technology companies. Opportunity for advancements are rare and the company does not have a hire within mentality. Much of the work is outsourced.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that your employees are key to your success.

    IBM2013-02-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Long exhausting hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Specialist in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You don't need much experience. Lack of certifications in any product /technology was never an issue. Great company for recent grads with no experience.

    Cons

    Certain IBM positions entail working long exhausting hours. Very little training if any. In my opinion, after the company requested and received US bailout money, the number of US positions that were lost to India increased.

    Advice to Management

    Some managers are great, some are not. My advice to Mgt is to learn from the managers that command respect. Poor Managers find it hard to be loyal to US Support, but those are the people you manage and should care about. Emerging markets should be secondary.

    IBM2013-02-06
  4. "Make 95K sitting home, eating chips, and checking your email every 2 hours!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Working at home. Make 95K sitting home, eating chips, and checking your email every 2 hours. Another good reason is that IBM looks good on your resume. Finally, you get really good at dealing with politics and difficult angry people (who are this way because they are stressed from being overworked and forced to achieve unrealistic goals.)

    Cons

    Hard to advance career (even when you really try hard) and LOTS of red tape to go through to get anything done. I always tell people working at IBM is 90% filling out forms / 10% doing actual technical work. IBM needs to start caring about employees again and we will care about the company. Until then, we will be unproductive.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the red tape, start caring about employees again and we will care about the company. Until then, we will be unproductive.

    IBM2008-08-21
  5. "Technical services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Management Specialist in Noida
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Life balance, Good Clients, Exposure to new technologies

    Cons

    Salary increase is like day dreaming.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure employees get yearly hike, atleast 5%

    IBM2019-07-30
  6. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Support Specialist in Hortolândia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge tech that you just might have the opportunity to work with.

    Cons

    Is not easy to reach the advanced projects.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the management system fast.

    IBM2019-06-24
  7. "Systems management specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Management Specialist in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance better opportunity good learning facility

    Cons

    Not applicable none projects work flexibility

    IBM2019-05-09
  8. "Systems Engineer at IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Specialist in Pune

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and flexible work timings

    Cons

    Low salary increments Less leave approval

    Advice to Management

    Can work on ways to let employees take all the leaves they have.

    IBM2018-11-01
  9. "Overall good experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Operations Specialist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment for fresher s .

    Cons

    Less pay & not providing career growth oppurtunities .

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve in employee recognition & rewards..

    IBM2018-09-02
  10. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Management Specialist in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1)WFH. 2)Flexible working time. 3)Cool people. 4)We have learning portals. 5)Hard working SMEs around, so you'll get to learn a lot.

    Cons

    1)No proper Hike annually. 2)No On site.

    Advice to Management

    Need Industry standards Hike annually & extra perks.

    IBM2018-07-29
Found 24 reviews