IBM Technical Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Technical Specialist Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
105 Ratings
  1. "Great Experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Solutions Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of people willing to help you out. Lots of opportunities to grow technical sales skills. Good culture between fellow interns.

    Cons

    Huge company so most people are only accessible by phone.

    IBM2019-02-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Too many Resource Actions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Huge company. Lots of resources to learn new skills. *Many SME willing to help if you have questions. *Global presence.

    Cons

    *Too many layoffs *Too much travel.

    Advice to Management

    My managers where great but then none of them and team members survived all of the Resource Actions. :(

    IBM2019-04-04
  3. "Parental Leave - Supporting Families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    IBM changed parental leave and supports families by providing 18+ weeks for maternity leave! Allows working mothers the bonding time with their newborn

    Cons

    Territory Changes every 6 months

    IBM2019-02-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Summit Sales Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sales Specialist in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant learning and solid values. Resources and knowledge is abundant.

    Cons

    Tools, Office, Structure is outdated. Hardly talk with 2nd line manager

    Advice to Management

    Need to transition and start transforming inside-out instead of outside-in

    IBM2018-12-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sales Specialist (Summit) in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Invests in employees Great salary Great benefits Best people to work with & for By far best job I've ever had and can't wait to grow with IBM

    Cons

    Slow moving processes and changes like any other large company

    Advice to Management

    Involve the millennials more, we'll be taking over these jobs one day and want to learn the ropes!

    IBM2018-08-23
  6. "Best of IBM 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Technical Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A trip to the Bahamas with my wife with a celebration of everyone's accomplishments was a great opportunity to reflect on our success. First Class all the way!!!!

    Cons

    The weather could have been better!

    IBM2018-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not your Father's IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technical Support Specialist in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, professional environment, good career advancement potential.

    Cons

    No longer an "Employee-centric" organization.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your employees and less on the stock price and you'll be a lot better off.

    IBM2018-05-13
  8. "It’s not what you know, it’s who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Sales Specialist in Raleigh, NC
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent bonus structure if they give it to you. If you’re in good with upper management the sky is the limit. If they are gone or move on you have to start again. Be aware of this and know your second and third plus line bosses and your journey is fulfilling.

    Cons

    There’s no rhyme or reason to the layoffs. In February of my last year as a technical person I made a 90k bonus responsible for large sales. One month later told my position no longer needed. The funny thing is they would keep continue to hire people for the same role that was going away. Everything about IBM is now a who you know up top to shield you. You lose your safety shield and you’re exposed. It’s dumb when you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My last day my boss did not talk to me on close out. It was really awkward. Some managers are great. Some are terrible. Communication is key and not all do it.

    IBM2018-04-25
  9. "Great if You're Young; Otherwise, Watch Your Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Some great technical minds and groups to work in. The occasional good manager (I had at least 10 managers in 15 years). Large company means choices for affordable benefits. Opportunities for college grads.

    Cons

    You are a number, plain and simple. Ageism is rampant. Terrible management at every level. Morale is horrible as everyone waits for the next layoff. Great people get let go every quarter. Your yearly review score can be excellent yet you're not valued as an employee.

    Advice to Management

    Fire Ginny. There is no way the average employee ANYWHERE would keep their job after several quarters of poor performance, let alone 22. Show some compassion and empathy. You have impacted/destroyed so many lives you've probably lost count. At one time I was proud to be an IBMer; too bad that has been ruined.

    IBM2018-03-19
  10. "Summit Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Technical Specialist in New York, NY

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    incredible sales training, mock client meetings, well rounded education for real life conversations and opportunities, unlimited learning opportunity, networking, events, etc.

    Cons

    lack of structured technical learning making it difficult to transition to team from training

    Advice to Management

    more structured technical learning paths

    IBM2018-01-23
Found 218 reviews