IBM Testing Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Testing Engineer

IBM Test Engineer Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 142 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
54 Ratings
  1. "One of the best companies to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility is one of the best part about working at IBM

    Cons

    The promation speed is slow

    IBM2017-10-19
  2. "----"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Test Engineer 

      I have been working at IBM full-time

      Pros

      Relaxed Job, Sometimes work from home facilitated

      Cons

      Company politics. IBM Managers don't act with ethics

      IBM2019-04-30
    • "Very less pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test 

        I worked at IBM

        Pros

        lots of accounts and projects .

        Cons

        no growth less pay

        IBM2018-09-27
      • "Software Test Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Test Engineer 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at IBM for more than a year

        Pros

        Outstanding environment, excellent policy and benefits

        Cons

        Job is vulnerable sometime as risk of loosing contract

        Advice to Management

        Room to create more futuristic office environment

        IBM2017-08-09
      • "Great Learning Experience in a Hands-On Work Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Development Test Engineer in Tucson, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM for more than a year

        Pros

        - Coworkers are incredibly helpful and friendly - Very laid back work environment - Forward-thinking software development techniques, which is great experience

        Cons

        - Sometimes work can get bogged down due to the massive number of employees working on any given project

        Advice to Management

        - Further career opportunities following the internship

        IBM2017-08-01
      • "A little strange if you are not an 'insider'."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Systems Test Engineer in Liberty Lake, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at IBM for less than a year

        Pros

        Good benefits. Friendly HR until....

        Cons

        If you are not in the right click, it might be hard for you.

        Advice to Management

        Don't use the same pitches to try to raise spirits.

        IBM2016-11-01
      • "IBM layoffs moral killers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software QA Test Engineer in Redmond, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        There was a lot of opportunity for learning new technologies in my group plus the added resources provided by IBM.

        Cons

        IBM bought our small startup and then dismembered it. The continual layoffs over 10 years was a moral killer.

        Advice to Management

        Quit moving jobs offshore. I supposed that helped moral of offshore employees but not employees located in US.

        IBM2016-10-31
      • Helpful (2)

        "Restructuring, for better or worse"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Test Engineer in Poughkeepsie, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        IBM is such a huge company that there are many opportunities available. Chances are, if you end up in a position you don't like, you can transfer to a different position although it's much easier if you transfer within a division. Of course there are many opportunities here to work on stuff that really matters in society. The company's restructuring efforts may finally be paying off this year.

        Cons

        Since the company is so large, sometimes it's difficult to turn the ship around. Change is happening, but slowly. Some of the tools we have to use only make the job more difficult. It's easy to be lured in to a job or physical geography with no growth, as some locations are only downsizing.

        Advice to Management

        Give us the tools to do our jobs and remove the administrative overhead. Some additional monetary awards here and there wouldn't hurt either.

        IBM2016-08-02
      • "One of big tech company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in San Jose, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IBM

        Pros

        One of the biggest tech company in the world. Opportunities to work from home, and working hour is flexible.

        Cons

        Base salary is less than other big companies. Food is not free.

        IBM2016-01-06
      • "All Hype, but nowhere to go"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Test Engineer in Austin, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at IBM for more than 5 years

        Pros

        -It pays the bills -Management can sure crack a joke

        Cons

        -Considering that the software is kept in-house, your knowledge that you attain there is worth nothing outside of IBM -You are only respected through time spent at IBM, not how much you accomplish -When upper management makes mistakes, the tiers below loses their jobs.

        Advice to Management

        -Branding is what this company have that's keeping it afloat. -Management should listen to their customers outside of IBM and downstream to other IBM employees.

        IBM2015-10-06
      Found 142 reviews