IBM UI Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM UI Designer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
2 Ratings
  1. "Chill work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    learning experience, nice environment, helping people

    Cons

    no challenges, insipid day to day routine

    IBM2019-01-31
  2. "Good design culture, old company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    IBM Designer culture, benefits, meeting people all over the world

    Cons

    B2B products, dry content, stuck in the past

    IBM2018-05-18
  3. "IBM UI Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI Designer in Yorktown, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart people to work with!

    Cons

    Can't be too creative there

    IBM2017-09-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good experience for interns, co-ops or if you are early in career. Bad for long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI Designer in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn how to operate in a work environment if you are an intern or co-op. If you are unsure if you want to take the plunge into the corporate world, this is your chance to get a taste of it. You work with other many big name clients and learn how to work with large global teams. If you are a smart go-getter, you'll have no problem balancing the hours of work with life. You'll probably finish...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like with many corporations, things are slow to change. Now, depending on what department you work for, the experience may be different-- I worked in software group. You will learn how to work with other people and navigate through the politics. This can be a turn-off for many people who are strictly into serving the customer needs and building a useful product. I felt that my world was less about doing my actual...

    Show More
    IBM2015-03-29
  5. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI Design in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    They allow for a lot of work from home opportunities and benefits are great

    Cons

    Management is not always in touch with employees - sometimes more IBM-centric

    IBM2012-08-24
  6. "They look after employees but can have too much corporate process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI-UX Designer in Hursley, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Looks great on the CV, good exposure to some cool projects, security and stability of a large corporate. They look after employees.

    Cons

    Salaries not always industry standards, too much corporate tape blocking things getting done quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of some of the old projects and legacy and really focus on the future.

    IBM2019-02-08
  7. "Great place with nice people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience/UI Designer in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Freedon, challenging projects, home office.

    Cons

    Tiny bonus, in between projects you stay alone in the dark, weak recognization and career development.

    IBM2019-02-07
  8. "IBM Design Studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in Bangalore

      I have been working at IBM

      Pros

      Great exposure and really well known clients. Good learning in respect to design process.

      Cons

      The people are helpful, but the work entails more management as opposed to designing stuff.

      IBM2017-02-18
    Found 8 reviews