IBM Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Intern Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 592 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
213 Ratings
  1. "Great internship program that emphasizes career growth, discovery, and networking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Greatly ran program by the internship coordinators. Very flexible in helping you discover the wide variety of roles available at IBM. Also plenty of networking events for you to meet new people and learn more. Outside of that the workers there are incredibly helpful, outgoing, and willing to help.

    Cons

    Before coming to the internship there wasn’t enough transparency as to what exactly the role would be in this position and what to expect as you transition in.

    IBM2019-10-15
  2. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Applications Developer Intern 

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Have a lot of time to build up your skills.

    Cons

    Not much projects to be involved in.

    IBM2019-10-07
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    room for growth, exciting, brand name

    Cons

    People and systems are a bit outdated

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on culture

    IBM2019-10-02
  4. "Marketing Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    great program with dedicated intern advisors who are committed to creating the best possible experience for all interns with a multitude of social events, networking opportunities, seminars/lectures and projects

    Cons

    very large program which makes competition for return offer very difficult

    IBM2019-09-30
  5. "the job was a great experience for my future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    very interesting work sometimes but enjoyable

    Cons

    sometimes it seemed as though it was repetitive

    IBM2019-09-25
  6. "Good company for student interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern 

    I have been working at IBM

    Pros

    Worked on team alongside other employees

    Cons

    Large company can make it hard to differentiate self

    IBM2019-09-20
  7. "Best place to start at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Intern 

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    best place to start at

    Cons

    some people can make your day harder than what it is

    IBM2019-10-04
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for with exposure to high level executives

    Cons

    Lots of politics and little transparency in hiring process

    IBM2019-09-17
  9. "A hidden gem."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    IBM has an odd reputation because it is an old company in a world full of new tech companies and I was wary in the beginning that it would be old and rigid. BUT it totally was not. I love every day I spent working there. The diversity is incredible and I felt incredibly valued even as an inter. Great people and great work. I recommend.

    Cons

    There was a bit of lack of communication as to what to expect before the internship started but other than that truly nothing.

    IBM2019-09-16
  10. "Awesome interning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Machine Learning Intern in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Challenging problems, collaborative people and great learning opportunities.

    Cons

    not any that I can think of

    IBM2019-09-16
Found 592 reviews