IBM Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for marketing

IBM Marketing Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
233 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smart people, innovative thinking, very competitive benefits

    Cons

    A little slow and lumbering at times

    IBM2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Big and complex company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    The company has many highly talented and hardworking people.

    Cons

    Business processes and internal systems are complex and difficult to navigate. The Marketing organization as a whole is far more focused on itself and its own culture and processes than on understanding customers and helping Sales succeed. There is so much being done in the name of "Agile" but in practice it is anything but.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify and streamline processes for contracting, purchasing, legal approval, and finance/accounting to make it easier for individuals and teams get their work done. The "Blue Goo" is real and it makes it harder to be successful, especially for sellers

    IBM2019-12-10
  3. "Good exposure, a tad chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Resume Builder Access to so many industry professionals Lots of skill-building and educational opportunities

    Cons

    Huge company, easy to get kind of get lost

    IBM2019-11-13
  4. "Summer Salary Intern Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    fun individuals flexible work hours

    Cons

    very small office people worked remote a-lot

    IBM2019-10-30
  5. "Great internship program that emphasizes career growth, discovery, and networking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    Greatly ran program by the internship coordinators. Very flexible in helping you discover the wide variety of roles available at IBM. Also plenty of networking events for you to meet new people and learn more. Outside of that the workers there are incredibly helpful, outgoing, and willing to help.

    Cons

    Before coming to the internship there wasn’t enough transparency as to what exactly the role would be in this position and what to expect as you transition in.

    IBM2019-10-15
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    room for growth, exciting, brand name

    Cons

    People and systems are a bit outdated

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on culture

    IBM2019-10-02
  7. "Probably the BEST company I've ever worked for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance Endless Learning resources Excellent Benefit package and 401K

    Cons

    Frequent lay offs Frequent Org re-structuring Frequent changes

    IBM2019-09-30
  8. "Marketing Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    great program with dedicated intern advisors who are committed to creating the best possible experience for all interns with a multitude of social events, networking opportunities, seminars/lectures and projects

    Cons

    very large program which makes competition for return offer very difficult

    IBM2019-09-30
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for with exposure to high level executives

    Cons

    Lots of politics and little transparency in hiring process

    IBM2019-09-17
  10. "A hidden gem."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    IBM has an odd reputation because it is an old company in a world full of new tech companies and I was wary in the beginning that it would be old and rigid. BUT it totally was not. I love every day I spent working there. The diversity is incredible and I felt incredibly valued even as an inter. Great people and great work. I recommend.

    Cons

    There was a bit of lack of communication as to what to expect before the internship started but other than that truly nothing.

    IBM2019-09-16
Found 465 reviews