IBM "opportunities to learn" Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Employee Reviews about "opportunities to learn"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41711 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
16399 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "opportunities to learn"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "What Work-Life Balance?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Strategy Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work in new role with each project Lots of networking opps with other tech companies Lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Travel weekly to client site, which may not be in a great location Projects understaffed so long hours to accomplish deliverables High expectation to make IBM and their clients priority above all else Commitment expectation increases every year Bonus program is weak

    Advice to Management

    Stop overselling to get the contract... you are wearing out your staff.

    IBM2019-05-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Management typically doesn't know much about AI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist/Instructor in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    + Nice people. + Opportunities to learn. + Good salary.

    Cons

    + Toxic environment - employees closer to the heads get higher priority for their projects. + Management is old with impressive achievements but irrelevant to AI / computer science. Could easily be replaced by younger and more relevant people. + Bonuses close to zero. + People leave often within 2-3 years. + Not clear how to get promotion.

    Advice to Management

    It's about time to retire.

    IBM2019-04-15
  3. "Great place to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities if you take advantage

    Cons

    Don’t expect a lot of loyalty from the company

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees rather than rif them

    IBM2019-04-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn and grow, freedom to make the job what you want

    Cons

    Co-location, lack of strategic vision

    IBM2019-03-06
  5. "Do your homework before considering IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Worked from home office. Lots of learning opportunities. Worked with some amazing people.

    Cons

    Caustic culture. It is not a matter of if you will be stabbed in the back, it is when! I watched for years as top talent were let go as the offshore model picked up steam. Now it is the grey hairs who are getting let go at a record pace. Watch your back.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, I cant recall the last time a manager was actually straight with me. I would have been fine with tough truth, but truth is hard to come by at IBM.

    IBM2019-03-29
  6. "Great place to launch career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Great brand recognition for resume after IBM - Exposure to high profile clients with opportunities to learn and grow fast - Well-defined career ladder with clear expectations

    Cons

    - Limited interaction with direct manager and staffing manager leads to conflict in the battle between billable hours and project preferences/expertise - Tough work/life balance with a lot of travel - Senior management is far out of touch from what's actually happening with clients on the day-to-day

    IBM2019-02-19
  7. "Had high hopes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great training/learning opportunities Upward growth if willing to relocate Work flexibility and understanding

    Cons

    Feel like a number No support from hr No upward mobility in my city

    Advice to Management

    Quit talking about engagement and do something about it.

    IBM2019-02-19
  8. "in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Solutions Professional in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    great people and lots of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    slow to market, lots of things out-dated. Constant layoff. raise is hard to come by

    Advice to Management

    be more agile in this market.

    IBM2019-02-19
  9. "Honestly, it's been great so far.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Relaxed Work Environment + Flexible with hours + No Micromanaging + Great Co-workers + Good learning opportunities + Great work/life balance

    Cons

    - Pay seems low for a tech job - 401K matching

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, Keep doing what you are doing. I do not know why I've read so many negative reviews on here about IBM. This is my first job out of college, and I have met great people, learned a ton, and look forward to going to work during the week

    IBM2019-02-05
  10. "Working at IBM in Talent Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Talent Acquisition Partner in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Endless Learning Opportunities Some of the Smartest People in the TA Field Innovative Tons of Cutting Edge Technologies One of the few companies to embrace Agile for TA

    Cons

    Some antiquated systems that need to be sunset (Sametime, Lotus Notes, RecruitProc)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    IBM2019-02-01
Found 41711 reviews