IBM Product manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Product Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
72 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work with. Great learning opportunities.

    Cons

    None. Just maintain the current working style

    IBM2019-10-12
  2. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary was good, not a look of work, flexibility in work schedule - work from home, etc

    Cons

    HR was unempathetic, she didn't care about any problems, Boss was horrible and HR couldn't care less

    Advice to Management

    I don think they would care enough for my advice.

    IBM2019-10-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Ideally poised for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Convinced that Red Hat acquisition will finally return IBM to aggressive growth.

    Cons

    Little chance for advancement, blocked by entrenched long time employees

    Advice to Management

    Establish career paths in the midst of enterprise complexity

    IBM2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Agile, open space..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many great tool and learning paths. Since it’s such a large organization, there are many opportunities at your disposal and you can choose the areas you want to focus on to advance your career.

    Cons

    Many functions are very siloed and the communication from the various channels become sensory overload. The number of meetings make it impossible to get your work done during a normal 8 or 10 hour workday.

    IBM2019-09-01
  6. "Poor Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Product Manager 

    I worked at IBM

    Pros

    - Office is Modern - Working hours are not unreasonable - Flexibility to work remote

    Cons

    - Difficult to work across divisions - Most employees work remote, difficult to coordinate

    IBM2019-08-24
  7. "IBM Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wide variety of projects with different business units

    Cons

    Slow in latest technologies and in people

    Advice to Management

    Take risks, invest

    IBM2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    The job is pretty Flexible with my organization since we were work from home at the time. Tasks are Challenging

    Cons

    Lack management guidance and training

    IBM2019-06-14
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Manager 

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative, rewarding. Interesting products to work on

    Cons

    Challenging at times, large number of employees = hard to get work done

    IBM2019-06-05
  10. "Constant company change, but exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Watson Health is trying to do something very exciting in Healthcare, and I commend them.

    Cons

    The merger of the multiple companies acquired has created a volatile work environment. And the pressure is creating a toxic culture of blame

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee engagement and retaining talent

    IBM2019-05-22
  11. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Big Projects to learn on.

    Cons

    Sometimes tough to move the needle in a big company.

    Advice to Management

    Think about managing business unit rotations with product managers on a two year basis.

    IBM2019-04-18
Found 147 reviews