IBM Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
622 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "GBS going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    working with incredible people . Wealth of learning resources

    Cons

    Management and CEO so focused on the bottom line that they forget to take care of their employees. moral is low, fear of being laid off at any time.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees - we are your assets

    IBM2019-06-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I would not recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a few work from home jobs, but not many.

    Cons

    If you are rated one of the top performers, your bonus is only a few hundred dollars and your raise is 2%. They do layoffs based on the account you are working on, not based on who is a low performer. The company is not doing well, and the only way IBM reduces costs is to lay off the worker bees.

    Advice to Management

    Lay off the upper management including the CEO.

    IBM2019-07-11
  3. "Great salary and 401K"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Project Manager in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned allot, real opportunity to work globally, good people willing to help and work with you

    Cons

    Bonus payouts were quite low

    IBM2019-06-01
  4. "Average company, average career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, days off, flexible

    Cons

    Average Pay, no path forward

    IBM2019-06-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t do it! It is a sad dinosaur!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boulder, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    When I joined IBM, I was excited, however I encountered so many burned out and disgruntled employees it was sad. IBM does not value their employees and really feels as though they are doing you a favor by employing you. They have reduced benefits offered every year. For example, they eliminated group universal life insurance and offer term insurance only ( it’s not a fixed term like a standard policy but month to... month and only good as long as you are employee- if you take leave or get sick forget it! You might as well buy a policy from your own insurance agent ). They no longer allow people to work from home to force collaboration. Employees who used to work at home now sneak into their offices and talk to no one, they sneak out again as soon as they can! Contrary to what they state, they do not promote or support women! When I got pregnant they told me I was on the mommy track and would not get promoted ever. Raises are slim to none, so my advice to you is negotiate a higher salary than they offered because you will not get more! Average raises are 1%! Additionally they do not pay out their bonus!

    Show More

    Cons

    Low salaries Continues to eliminate benefits like remote working and group universal life No career path or promotions. Most employees are struggling to just make it until retirement Not innovative Run down buildings Bullying

    Advice to Management

    No point in sharing an alternate opinion, you are not open to suggestions.

    IBM2019-06-05
  6. "Columbia CIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IBM's Think 40 is great for learning new skills/technologies or even refreshing established skills

    Cons

    It would be nice to have more of a match on 401K

    IBM2019-05-20
  7. "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encourages work life balance, flexibility and career advancement.

    Cons

    There is actually none, all companies have different values.

    Advice to Management

    None

    IBM2019-05-19
  8. "Goodbye Baby Blue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Uh, their network is secure

    Cons

    Their network is secure because nobody can log in. Their insistence on using Linux OS on laptops and constant login issues, is beyond annoying. I worked for a year and a half through a 3rd part Temp agency, for a major hospital system, and in the entire time I was there, they never hired a single contractor on fulltime at IBM. I'm guessing they billed 250+% for what they paid me, and still treated me like... garbage. I guess that's their new business model, bilking quasi-governmental hospital systems, who have no idea how IT systems run. I guess they got sick of playing the game of creating products and software because they kept LOSING.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Retire already, and take your stock options with you.

    IBM2019-06-20
  9. "A perfect oppurtunity to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You will have access to the latest and greatest technologies to grow your career in the field of data science or management.

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    IBM2019-05-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Prioritized Location Over Knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for many years and have had great opportunities to expand my career. I have had many different jobs over my 20+ here. I have been fortunate to work with amazing people and have felt valued in the roles I have played.

    Cons

    High level CIO leadership has decided that locating talent near where executives are is more important then retaining the knowledge base they have. They are currently giving dozens of long time Massachusetts resources the ultimatum to move to NYC or Raleigh negating their claim that people are their most valuable resource.

    Advice to Management

    Keep high performing teams where they are instead of consolidating based on where an executive sits.

    IBM2019-05-20
Found 1417 reviews