IBM Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1414 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
622 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Run Away unless you wish to ruin your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is only ONE “pro” and that is working from home. That’s it!

    Cons

    This company cares NOTHING about the employee. They care about one thing. Dollars! Clients hate us. The processes are insane and quash all ability to work with any creativity. IBM does not care about its customers. If they only knew what goes on behind the scenes. No bonuses, or when they come they are a complete and utter joke. Less than 1% of salary. Raises non existent for anyone other than management.... In short, unless you are a complete F-up, I’d run for the hills as this company will put you in the dirt. They expect you to give them your heart and soul, but when the bean counters or analysts decide they need to cut, you could be Mother Teresa and you’ll still get kicked to the curb with an immoral 1 mo severance. No matter your tenure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. You have no clue what you are doing.

    IBM2019-06-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "IBM doesn't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Used to be ability to work from home

    Cons

    They care about bottom line, that's it. They stopped monthly 401k contributions and made 1 contribution at end of year, so if you leave before the year end, you get zip.

    Advice to Management

    People are your most important asset, not shareholder.

    IBM2019-05-15
  3. "IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large Company, Can move within the company on various assignments.

    Cons

    Lost sight of employee focus, high pressure to meet numbers

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your most valuable assets, The Employees

    IBM2019-04-08
  4. "Best job I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - IT Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best job I have had

    Cons

    Nothing except I wish I was still there

    Advice to Management

    Hope that clients will be achieved so that the company can be amazing again in service delivery and will start hiring us all back.

    IBM2019-04-02
  5. "Remote Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Visionary CEO, moving toward Cloud based technology, remote work options commonly available

    Cons

    Difficult environment to work in if your business is not in the mainstream LOB. No raises for several years.

    Advice to Management

    Create a more inclusive work environment for remote employees

    IBM2019-04-03
  6. "Big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to travel a lot

    Cons

    Can be moved to other locations

    IBM2019-04-02
  7. "IBM Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very competitive salaries and benefits.

    Cons

    Very structured and rigid environment.

    IBM2019-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "No Employer loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    fairly good education and experience

    Cons

    Can be laid off at any time regardless of performance or years of service.

    Advice to Management

    Get back to original company loyalty to employees

    IBM2019-03-29
  9. "Excited to join the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IBM has been very expedient!

    Cons

    It is too soon to have an opinion.

    IBM2019-02-06
  10. "No Longer the Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, though they have been taking a little away each year

    Cons

    Inefficient! Sink or swim mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Always wanted to work here when I was younger, the sparkle is off the diamond. The inefficiencies around the organization is mind boggling & frustrating!

    IBM2019-02-19
Found 1414 reviews