IBM Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Project Manager Reviews

Updated 10 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
625 Ratings
  1. "Technical Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home, Watson group

    Cons

    Everything else is a con. salary is the biggest downside

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees

    IBM2018-06-30
  2. "Constant reorganizing and changing reporting hierarchy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovation, name recognition, leading edge

    Cons

    No commitment to employees, constant reshuffling of reporting structure makes it very difficult to plan and execute promotions

    Advice to Management

    Some change is good, be mindful how many times and how often you move resources

    IBM2018-06-01
  3. Helpful (5)

    "@IBM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Project Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    big name, lots of opportunities, good platform to learn things co-workers are very nice and ready to help each others cross country work experiences agile environment easy internal job transfer

    Cons

    company is going down, resource action everyday too many meetings- fully booked with meetings everyday many processes, the company does not have a clear picture of its next move

    Advice to Management

    replace current CEO (talks too much does little) to a tech person who has a clear picture of the next movement, cut at least half of the backoffice employees- their existance are to make you busy with processes

    IBM2018-04-25
  4. "Ok. Some good. Some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Plano, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a job. It helps me pay the bills. I have benefits. I do like my coworkers. Most of my coworkers are satisfied Can Not day they are happy here .

    Cons

    Ok for me, my immediate leader is not good. Poor leader. Clearly plays favorite. I am not of the favorites. am looking for a new job

    Advice to Management

    None

    IBM2018-05-20
  5. "Ibm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growth opportunities. Technology. Culture . Innovation

    Cons

    Too many processes.. too many obstacles.

    Advice to Management

    Establish Training programs with hands on projects

    IBM2018-05-18
  6. "IT Project/Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Project/Program Manager in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing to add here. Already provided my feedback

    Cons

    I have nothing to add here. Already provided my feedback

    Advice to Management

    Need new leadership. Practice ethical treatment of their employees.

    IBM2018-05-15
  7. "Long time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home, benefits, there are a lot useful education material available to learn from, management is cooperative, overall people you work with are friendly and ready to help

    Cons

    Pressure to make utilization goals, a lot of working off hours, no opportunities to apply new acquired skills, so education hours are spent in vain

    Advice to Management

    Need to give people more opportunities to engage in new technology or transformation

    IBM2018-05-05
  8. "Not your grandfather's IBM anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are all smart and dedicated, a million opportunities to grow if you know how to look, excellent work-life balance, diversity

    Cons

    Easy to get lost in the size, takes a long time for decisions

    IBM2018-04-20
  9. "If you cannot say anything nice..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    none that I can think of

    Cons

    Talent Management and Collaboration are heading down the tubes. All hope is not gone yet but it is close. Suggest saying away from this division. As for the rest of IBM, folks are too silo'ed and they do not care about other divisions. Not a very collaborative work environment.

    Advice to Management

    break down the silos and reduce the layers of management.

    IBM2018-05-01
  10. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Armonk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and first line managers.

    Cons

    Making people come back into the office 5 days a week. Long hours with little thanks.

    IBM2018-05-01
Found 1431 reviews