IBM Senior application developer Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Senior Applications Developer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
19 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at IBM. Freedom of technology.

    Cons

    Job depends on the client and department. Significant outsourcing.

    IBM2015-09-18
  2. "Application Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Onsite opportunity. Work from home facility.

    Cons

    Manager driven system. Less salary.

    IBM2018-05-09
  3. "IBM review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Enormous learning opportunity; 2. Reimbursement of certification; 3. Team-work; 4. Well-defined process and systems

    Cons

    1. Bad Employee remuneration & appraisal; 2. Less growth opportunity; 3.Bad HR policy; 4. Tough to change competency

    Advice to Management

    Please take care of career growth and opportunities of existing employees instead of beating around the bush with HR policy. Please work on a steady and stable rating system.

    IBM2018-03-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good company with junk managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company with great flexibility.

    Cons

    Not so good projects. Most of them are AMS in which you keep on doing repetitive tasks quite often.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to understand that treat employee well. they form a lobby to only point out mistakes during time of annual reviews.

    IBM2017-02-24

    IBM Response

    March 28, 2017Program Consultant - IBMer Engagement

    Thanks for your candid review and feedback.

  5. "Webcenter Content with java portal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Armonk, NY

      I have been working at IBM (Less than a year)

      Pros

      I am team lead in IBM.

      Cons

      Hike is not good in IBM.

      IBM2017-02-17
    • "Senior Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Armonk, NY

      I have been working at IBM for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexibility Good Projects Work life balance, but depends upon the project

      Cons

      Salary is less when compared with market Yearly hike % is also very minimal

      IBM2015-12-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Growth through Acquisition over Innovation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Talented people and interesting projects. Great potential if you have the exact skill needed. Flexible work environment and the managers that I worked with were some of the best in the business.

      Cons

      People resources can be considered disposable tools, good job if you have the skills needed at that moment, throw away resource if / when not immediately needed. Zero job security. Benefits, 401k match, bonus / incentive structure has eroded to almost non existent even in the relatively short time I was there.

      IBM2014-05-09
    • "Excellent Working conditions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at IBM (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Friendly, good working conditions, good pay, interesting projects

      Cons

      Projects not long enough, work not challenging enough, did not utilize my full skill set

      IBM2014-03-28
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Bangalore
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good Career growth for SAP Consultants Good work culture and positive work environment Standard company ethics Encourages women employees by facilitating secure work place, providing work from home as required, good and secure cab services and so on Many Trainings and opportunities for self development

      Cons

      As IBM is a vast company, very difficult to have financial hikes. No Transportation facilitated except for shifts.

      Advice to Management

      More encouragement required for the employees from financial aspect.

      IBM2018-11-05
    • "Nice experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Mobile Applications Developer in Noida
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Very good opportunity to learn lots of things. Process, Innovation.. etc

      Cons

      no cons i found here

      IBM2018-10-23
    Found 38 reviews