IBM "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41691 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
16399 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "IBM is a very good company to start your career at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IBM part-time

    Pros

    When I first started working at IBM in college as an intern, I didn't have any development experience but they taught me everything I know. The workplace also has a very relaxed work schedule so the work/life balance is very good. I've noticed that IBM members aren't worked to the bone like other major companies like Google or Amazon and employees are encouraged to take breaks.

    Cons

    A lot of the technology that is used isn't very relevant outside of IBM.

    IBM2019-05-09
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    work life balance is good. Very big comp so depends on group.

    Cons

    Benefits are very poor. No defined career path

    Advice to Management

    No defined career path

    IBM2019-05-07
  3. "IBM - GBS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    - The people: talented individuals who love to solve complex problems - responsiveness: when you need something, I find the people here unbelievably willing to help - The brand: IBM tries to do the right thing by its clients and it’s policies toward its people are very progressive

    Cons

    - Work life balance - Heavy finance/ops driven culture which sometimes stifles individual creativity and entrepreneurship

    IBM2019-04-26
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and work life balance. Good people to work with

    Cons

    Infrequent raises and low bonus

    IBM2019-04-24
  5. "Great people, Slow moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab 

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Alot of great people to work with here. Nice work life balance, and company events withing departments or site-wide.

    Cons

    A good deal of old souls here. There are a good deal of the older generation here with outdated ideas that will not leave until retirement. Majority of the things IBM does is conducted at a very slow pace in a fast moving industry.

    IBM2019-04-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work with a ton of challenging problems. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    The company is so large that experiences may vary

    IBM2019-04-15
  7. "Tons of potential but the culture is dire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance prior to colocation

    Cons

    Strange company culture Bonuses are almost non-existant Very weak marketing fundamentals Forced march to co-location killing morale

    IBM2019-04-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    work-life balance great co workers great work culture

    Cons

    hard to get a promotion unless you continually prove yourself or be on your manager's good side

    IBM2019-04-05
  9. "Product support specialist in Ann Arbor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Company culture, team environment, work/life balance. Loved the workout room and cafeteria.

    Cons

    I was laid off. Among several others in 2018. Management does an awful job of communicating with employees. Favoritism was high in the department over one person, who could do no wrong. Time after time he would violate the “rules” and management did not care! High standards that were impossible to meet at times.

    Advice to Management

    Less favoritism. More fairness.

    IBM2019-04-17
  10. "Great company to start off a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Solutions Architect in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Work/life balance - Resources

    Cons

    - Impact - Communication with Management

    Advice to Management

    None that I can think of

    IBM2019-04-02
Found 41691 reviews