IBT Media Reviews | Glassdoor

IBT Media Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
IBT Media CEO Etienne Uzac (no image)
Etienne Uzac
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Renamed themselves as Newsweek Media Group(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Incompetent editors pushing the worst standards and practices of modern online journalism(in 11 reviews)

  • "There's a race on who can get the highest bonus so no one wants to do good journalism(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunities for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY

    I have been working at IBT Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great growth opportunities for personal growth

    Cons

    The pay and the benefits less much to be desired

    Advice to Management

    Invest in high value content

    IBT Media2017-03-19
  2. "Truly Awful, Shady, Predatory Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hungry emerging journalists and writers to network with Lots of juicy reported articles from other publications to read about the company Neverending workplace drama, if that's your thing

    Cons

    Inept, scandal-ridden executives Deeply tied to notoriously abusive religious organization Rampant disregard for labor laws Executives openly disregard journalistic ethics

    IBT Media2019-08-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Best to avoid working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Reporter 

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is rarely difficult because quantity matters more than quality. The actual editors and reporters are good people.

    Cons

    Everything else. There's immense pressure to reach outrageous traffic goals and an impressive lack of professionalism all around. It's very clear that the news operation is not management's top priority.

    Advice to Management

    Distribute your salary to the workers and quit the media business.

    IBT Media2019-07-17
  5. "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media for more than a year

    Pros

    None. The company is corrupt and run by people who have no business owning and operating an organization.

    Cons

    Everything. CEO was indicted on fraud. Company had ad fraud. Don’t pay bonuses. Clueless everywhere. I cannot say enough bad things about the company. Do not work here!

    Advice to Management

    Quit this and go somewhere else.

    IBT Media2019-01-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unmitigated chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented colleagues on editorial Experienced editors

    Cons

    Immoral leadership Corrupt business practices No transparency at all Low pay

    IBT Media2018-11-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Scam, Aviod"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Maybe the name.

    Cons

    They are advertising full time jobs on Journalismjobs.com and then offering applicants temporary contracts with the promise of a chance at a full-time job after working for $13 an hour for four months. This is labor theft and is devaluing journalism. They only care about clicks. It sounds like the company might be going out of business.

    Advice to Management

    Leave.

    IBT Media2018-10-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Don't be that desperate to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journalist/Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I personally traveled a lot due to my beat, but I can't guarantee that for anyone else.

    Cons

    Extremely toxic work environment. No elevation opportunities, especially not for women or people of color. Stress from working here led to my developing a medication dependent condition.

    Advice to Management

    Give up

    IBT Media2018-09-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Zero Room For Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun people to work with, decent work load but not overwhelming. Nice office space and free bagels every week. Large desk space.

    Cons

    Corporate is in serious financial trouble right now and cannot afford to promote current/ new employees, so their strategy is to take on several freelancers/ fellows/ interns with the 'promise' of promotion and then NEVER follow through. They keep low wage employees in low wage positions, even going as far as drawing up employment agreements that they have no intention to follow through with.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency with employees is everything. Laying off an employee 20 minutes before they have to leave the office is not ideal or professional. Don't bother drawing up agreements that you know won't amount to anything. Don't paint Newsweek as a place that likes to keep the same people and promote them because it's a total sham. Just be real about the circumstances that new employees are walking into. False promises... never okay.

    Show More
    IBT Media2018-06-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IBT Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great team and there are some very talented reporters

    Cons

    Utter chaos everywhere else. Couldn’t get writers paid. Made less than other people doing more work because they were corporate favorites.

    Advice to Management

    Put this once great company out of its misery.

    IBT Media2018-05-09
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Unless you're VERY desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IBT Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, I guess bagel Wednesdays.

    Cons

    Worst job I've had in journalism. Low-morale, click obsessed race to the bottom. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Try to improve work environment, pay or at very least understand why people are miserable and attempt to AT LEAST not be catty and treat people well.

    IBT Media2018-04-24
Found 83 reviews