Cover image for ICF
Logo

ICF

Engaged Employer

ICF

Add a Review

ICF Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,896 of over 2K reviews
3.7
75% Recommend to a Friend
ICF President and CEO John Wasson
86% Approve of CEO

Found 1,872 of over 2K reviews

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
ICF President and CEO John Wasson
John Wasson
302 Ratings

What people are saying about ICF

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "There are great people and you can get valuable experience if you seek it out.(in 179 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and strong on(in 103 reviews)
  • "The company has a good work/life balance and seems to really care about its employees.(in 92 reviews)
  • "Lots of expertise and great colleagues(in 65 reviews)
  • "The culture is good but varies from office to office.(in 55 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low salaries and compensations not enough to keep people(in 88 reviews)
  • "Low pay and frequently understaffed with COVID(in 88 reviews)
  • "Poor management and do not care about wellbeing of employees(in 71 reviews)
  • "Terrible managers and leaders with no actual skills(in 45 reviews)
  • "No bonuses and not much hike you will get.(in 28 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ICF and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great work environment but hard to take time off

    Nov 28, 2022 - ServiceNow Developer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Recognize Hardwork, Good benefits, High tier ServiceNow developer

    Cons

    Hard to take time off with Agile development model.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Smart people but systems need work

    Nov 27, 2022 - Senior Director in Rockville, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thoughtful supervisors provide great support.

    Cons

    Not clear if International work is a priority of the C suite.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the ICF team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Respectful and smart co-workers, can wfh

    Nov 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I lucked into working with a great manager and team. People in the larger group I'm in are all smart, respectful, and seem to enjoy their jobs. I'm in the environmental consulting part of ICF which means a lot of folks get to go outside for their work, so that helps boost mood/morale. I was hired on as a hybrid position, but I've been working mostly remote. This is my favorite thing about the job and company, that I can control when I go in (to a degree). So much easier to coordinate life stuff, and my cat is always nearby purring. I work 40 hours a week, haven't been asked to work more, and don't feel pressure to. Not micromanaged, pretty autonomous now that I got the hang of things. I liked the onboarding process, it was very helpful, since I've never worked for such a large company. Benefits and PTO seem ok. If you participate in the wellness program, you can knock a bit off your deductible (through an HRA). They'll pay for industry relevant course/conferences/professional memberships. Good 50:50 ratio of male/female in entry level to mid-management level. I feel respected here, as a woman. Always negotiate during the hiring process, I increased my salary offer this way.

    Cons

    -Major con is billable hours, and the hassle of tracking/entering into the time program when you work multiple projects at the same time. Knew this when I was hired, I still will always hate the concept of billable hours with the heat of 1000 billion suns. -The salary/promotion/review process is opaque and mysterious. -Wish there was more diversity as you get above mid-management (age/gender/culture/ethnicity/etc etc). This isn't an issue at lower levels in my group though. -My office is downtown in a large city, so I have to pay my own parking. The cheap parking garage a block away is creepy to walk to when it gets darker, and I'd much rather park in the garage attached to the office building, but it's expensive!! -It should be casual (in reason) instead of business casual in offices, when you clients won't ever see you/not in a meeting.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to create an environment where people feel they have balance in their work life, and it’s great to hear you have the flexibility and autonomy. Diversity and inclusion are a continuous, ongoing journey for us, and can take time in a large organization. While we are proud to have received awards recognizing our efforts in diversity and inclusion, we are constantly reevaluating our team structures, taking steps to close gaps, and identify data-driven solutions to invest in hiring people with dimensions of difference. We have established Mentor Connect to develop two-way professional relationships to build connections. Join programs like this and our Employee Community Networks to foster inclusion, advance skillsets, and inspire career growth among all employees. Have you addressed your parking concerns with anyone? We'd recommend reaching out to your HR business partner to see if there is anything that can be done to improve this experience. Consulting certainly has its challenges when meeting client expectations, including tracking billable hours. We encourage you to take part in quarterly Impact Conversations, two-way discussions where you and your manager can discuss real-time challenges and opportunities. Impact Conversations is our approach for managing performance, contributions, and career growth. - KZ

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work!

    Nov 21, 2022 - Child Welfare Specialist in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive environment, always willing To provide support and resources.

    Cons

    The company tends to prioritize the contract above people

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us a five-star review! We strive to create a supportive environment that fosters belonging, embraces diversity, and prioritizes fairness and inclusivity at all levels and roles. We also value honest and open conversations—even when it’s hard – and encourage you to have an impact conversation with your manager to discuss real-time challenges and opportunities. If an impact conversation with your manager has not worked, reach out to your HR business partner. - KZ

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great Place to Start

    Nov 19, 2022 - Senior Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of interesting projects

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry average

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We select projects that align with our purpose—to build a more prosperous and resilient world—and glad to hear you had many interesting projects. ICF regularly benchmarks salary ranges to ensure we are competitive with the industry. As we are in a business where we negotiate contracts with our clients and select projects that align with our values, salaries can depend on the budget of the client and assignments. Coming into a company and negotiating the compensation package you desire is not easy. If you're not satisfied and would like to seek additional compensation, prepare for an impact conversation with your manager to discuss what's needed to get you there. - KZ

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Remote Environment

    Nov 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and ability to take ownership of tasks and projects

    Cons

    A lot of employees are concentrated at the division HQ, so not as many opportunities for remote workers to network in person.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us a five-star review! Getting connected in a virtual environment can be tricky. While we have been a global company working remotely pre-pandemic, we have adjusted in new ways to ensure we are connected. At a company-wide level, we actively engage with employees through a range of communication methods, including company meetings, town halls, pulse surveys, and more. Employee input shapes our strategies and helps move us forward. We have also established Mentor Connect to develop two-way professional relationships to build connections and encourage professional development. We encourage you to join programs like this and our Employee Community Networks to foster inclusion. There are departments who have bi-weekly virtual happy hours or coffee/tea chats. You could propose this to your department to stay connected with your peers. -- SS

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Review

    Nov 25, 2022 - Research Scientist in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work is interesting, always something to work on

    Cons

    leadership, promotion schedule and salary

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place but needs some improvement

    Nov 7, 2022 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team. Rewarding work. Autonomy. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Benefits are quite expensive for those of us with families. Also, those in charge of referral bonuses will find any reason for you to not get paid. I had a referral start on time, do great work, and they're still employed but the man in charge of paying out referral bonuses refuses to pay out my bonus because this (internal, permanent) employee works less than full-time due to ICF not meeting his salary requirements. This, despite the fact that my referral is a massive contributor to our project. In fact he eventually just ignored me after multiple attempts to solve it or compromise for a lesser bonus amount. That's the sort of thing that will make you either stop helping or leave altogether so I suggest it improves.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for bringing your talent to our team. Sorry to hear this is causing frustration. You can find the bonus eligibility requirements on the HR Hiring section of the intranet. Employee referral bonuses are generally provided for full-time, permanent hires at ICF (and most companies). Employee referrals remain our largest source of hire every year for all hires. We’re so grateful that so many people want to refer their peers to have the opportunity to experience the culture, people, and work they get to enjoy at ICF. We hope this helps clarify things for you and we hope you continue to recommend people to ICF. -HS

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good intentions but cost competition based bureaucracy undermines employee benefits and system investments

    Nov 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly work environment with helpful colleagues

    Cons

    lack of homogeny in service offerings and inconsistent PM systems leads to siloed teaming and process redundancies

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leaving us a four-star review! We are so happy to hear you have a great team and work environment—we often hear this and think it's what sets us apart from other similar companies. If you haven’t already done so, we recommend bringing these ideas to your manager. One of our core values is to challenge assumptions—to question the accepted, anticipate change, and adapt accordingly. If you have thoughts on ways to improve processes, speak up and offer ways to make those changes. You never know, sometimes a little push and initiative is all it takes! --- SS

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing

    Nov 4, 2022 - Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything is great - no worries

    Cons

    Nothing - all is very good

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us a five-star review! We hope you continue to belong, grow, and thrive at ICF. Make sure you're following us on Instagram (@thisisicf) to see and read stories about your coworkers and our culture. - HS

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,872 Reviews
</>Embed

ICF Reviews FAQs

ICF has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 2,051 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at ICF to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, ICF employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at ICF. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

75% of ICF employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated ICF 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at ICF to be culture, benefits, career development and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with ICF Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ICF? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

ICF Photos

+ Add Photo
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: ICF Bengaluru Office
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

ICF Job Seekers Also Viewed

Booz Allen Hamilton Logo
Booz Allen Hamilton

4.0

7,917 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,051 ICF reviews submitted anonymously by ICF employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if ICF is right for you.