ICF Reviews in Washington, DC | Glassdoor

ICF Washington Reviews

Updated September 16, 2017
53 reviews

Filter

Filter

Washington, DC

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ICF Chairman and CEO Sudhakar Kesavan
Sudhakar Kesavan
28 Ratings

53 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • We work really hard on a variety of challenging topics but also have good work-life balance (in 84 reviews)

  • flexible schedule and some work from home possibilities (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • Not always good work life balance (in 44 reviews)

  • If ICF wants to recruit the best and the brightest, rename junior staff titles to describe the actual work we do (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "DIRECTOR AND COO / CFO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director and Chief Operating Officer/Chief Financial Officer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Director and Chief Operating Officer/Chief Financial Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ICF full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A great company, a very impactful organization.

    Cons

    Limited mandate, wish did not have a finite mandate

    Advice to Management

    Replicate the results in other companies


  2. "Project analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ICF full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place for collaboration with supportive teams and career growth. Flexible work schedules, great benefits and incentive programs, challenging work with access to multiple markets and clients.

    Cons

    Can be challenging to excel with multiple supervisors and their managerial expectations and work styles. Can feel too corporate at times.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "ICF Associate Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SOC Analyst in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - SOC Analyst in Washington, DC

    I worked at ICF full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Doesn't solicit new business actively

    Cons

    Have to pay back training funds even if required for position; salary lower than average; doesn't give all federal holidays

    ICF Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Project Analyst

    Dear former associate,
    We appreciate you taking the time to write a short review. When mentioning paying back training funds, are you referring to tuition repayment after resigning? If so, and per... More


  4. "Employees Communication Refreshing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Current Contractor - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Human resources ensures on-boarding is smooth and informative, best experience I've had in my professional career (efforts led by Leslie Taylor and David Parrish). Company has a robust internal communication plan to keep employees engaged, informed and aware of company happenings.

    Cons

    Hard to build relationships with team members when working remotely but that's the challenge of consulting, not a product of company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make employee internal communications at the forefront of business practices.

    ICF Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – Project Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review and for sharing your positive experience with our Talent Acquisition team. We have shared your kind feedback with Leslie and David directly.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Prevent Burnout by Seeking Other Opportunies Within"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good company overall. OK 401k compared to other companies. Great range of projects and groups within the company to expand on project experience.

    Cons

    Professional development isn't the greatest. Often having 50+ hour weeks leaving little work/life balance. But, it really depends on the project and/or your client. Middle range staff (Analysts - Associates) often leave the company to leave for more pay.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your staff's professional development. Promote within more often to prevent staff burnout. Since pay is low compared to other companies, give other incentives like flexible work schedules or telework.

    ICF Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – Project Analyst

    Dear current employee,
    Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We strive to ensure our salaries are in line with other competitors in our industry. We encourage you to partner... More


  6. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ICF (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very Professional work environment. Amazing place to be employed.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    ICF Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – Project Analyst

    Thank you for the quick review and great rating!


  7. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at ICF (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Clear goal setting process for the performance review cycle

    Cons

    talent and client pool is not as diverse as the larger consulting firms

    ICF Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – Project Analyst

    Dear current employee,
    Thanks for the quick review and high rating, We are actually pretty diverse: 30% of our executive leadership team is made of women and our employees boast a wide range of... More

  8. "Jennie is Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Subject Matter Expert in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Military Subject Matter Expert in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A wonderful team. From initial recruitment contact to the hand off to the program manager. A really great mood and feel to the hiring process.

    Cons

    Sadly, I couldn't find a full-time suitable position...

    ICF Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – Project Analyst

    Thank you for your kind words! We have shared them with Jennie directly and believe we have an exceptional recruiting team. Please reach out to us whenever we can assist you.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Relaxed place to work with exciting, meaningful projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture is good. Everyone is friendly. Good work/life balance. Also, the projects you work on are interesting.

    Cons

    Health Insurance plans are bad. (minimum $2000 deductible, which can be decreased to $1000 if you do wellness activities. Still, a PPO option would be preferable.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your employee's healthcare.

    ICF Response

    Aug 4, 2016 – Project Analyst

    Dear current employee,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We continually review our benefits and believe that we do offer a market-competitive benefits package... More


  10. "New ICF Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very well structured internally; excellent reputation with clients; heavy focus on employee's career development; great benefits

    Cons

    Slightly low starting pay and from an early perspective, there seems to be a high turnover rate

    ICF Response

    Jul 22, 2016 – Project Analyst

    Dear current employee,
    Thanks for the review and welcome aboard!


Showing 53 of 860 reviews
Reset Filters