ICR Reviews | Glassdoor

ICR Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (13)

    "The Worst Working Experience I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ICR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a number of smart, talented, cool people there, but I'm at a loss to recommend anything specific about ICR as a company.

    Cons

    I have never had an experience like ICR, and I hope to never encounter a workplace as toxic for the rest of my life. As a PR person (not IR) I was quickly rushed into the position, with my hiring manager threatening to rescind my job offer if I didn't start before giving my previous workplace a full two weeks notice. Assuming that was an isolated incident I still took the job, only to be met with an absolutely shocking...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate the current management. There are huge problems with how certain aspects of the organization is being managed, evidenced by the very high turnover rate, the impossible path to a raise or promotion. Hire human beings, and treat staff as an investment, not a means to an end. ICR is, in its current state, a truly terrible place to work.

    ICR2016-10-21
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Do yourself a favor and skip it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ICR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free bagels? Pretty much it.

    Cons

    Too many to count. Listen, ICR is an IR shop, and their IR people are good for what they do. They should stick to IR. PR is another story. It's a complete mess. The business leads are fantastically inept. The business is run like a mom and pop shop versus a real PR agency. They get business off of their IR clients and then lose it soon after because the clients realize they're in too far over their heads. They can't keep...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at PR. The revolving door - whether you like it or not - is indicative of a systematic problem at the top. And it won't get better (for clients or staff) until you make some real changes.

    ICR2016-10-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at ICR

      Pros

      Great people with strong experience

      Cons

      The need more options on coffee

      ICR2016-04-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "S. Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at ICR full-time

        Pros

        Great opportunity to learn; you make the most of it. Frequent interaction with the buy and sell side. Really talented senior mgmt. to learn from.

        Cons

        Pay Is low at first but once proven greatly increases.

        ICR2016-03-30
      • Helpful (1)

        "Special Operations Developer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Special Operations Developer in San Antonio, TX
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at ICR full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great pay, 2 weeks vacation, make your own hours

        Cons

        Inconsistent management who either does't have the experience needed or doesn't care about the people below them.

        Advice to Management

        Get better Program Managers

        ICR2016-03-03
      • Helpful (2)

        "Happy AS"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Supervisor 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at ICR

        Pros

        ICR affords great opportunities to those who rise to the occasion. There are some who have been with the firm for 10+ years and they all seem to share similar characteristics in that they work hard, always give the best quality service to clients and never really settle for less-than-great – the Type A driven personality succeeds here, you could say. I’ve found each team operates differently, thus you get varying degrees...

        Show More

        Cons

        I struggle a bit with work/life balance as there can be long days and you're expected to be on call at all times. However, that's what competitive firms do in a service industry.

        ICR2016-02-10
      • Helpful (2)

        "Tech"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warren, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at ICR

        Pros

        they have great Christmas parties

        Cons

        no advancement.......binding non-compete............upper mgt don't know what they are doing

        Advice to Management

        sell company to a forward thinking compeitior

        ICR2016-01-23
      • Helpful (5)

        "Unprofessional & unorganized"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at ICR full-time

          Pros

          People are generally friendly and HR plans several events (food trucks, bagel thursdays) to keep employees happy

          Cons

          There is extreme favoritism, you may be working for 6 different people at once who all think their work is the MOST important, and there is lots of drinking both internally and with clients that can become very unprofessional

          ICR2015-09-24
        • Helpful (7)

          "Worst company - DO NOT WORK HERE"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - IR Associate 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at ICR

          Pros

          There are no pros. Aweful company with the worst management I have ever seen . They bring in bagels but that's not even worth working here.

          Cons

          Terrible work environment, no training, extremely high turnover. Always hiring new people because they can't keep employees happy for more than a few months. Treat junior employees like crap . They will deceive you thinking the job is something it's not. RUN FROM THIS FIRM.

          Advice to Management

          Too many to name

          ICR2015-10-15
        • Helpful (4)

          "High Turnover"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Associate 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at ICR full-time

          Pros

          The office is conveniently located. There are snacks and beverages in the office. I had the chance to work on several well known clients.

          Cons

          Extremely unprofessional corporate culture that resists new ideas and purges any talent that threatens the status quo. ICR misrepresents the company to new employees and clients - exemplified by the high turnover for both. Junior employees are not valued and set up to fail with no training, too many clients and several different managers. Be prepared for 60+ hour weeks, poor compensation and no path for advancement.

          Advice to Management

          No amount of bagel Tuesdays/Thursdays can fix a culture that destroys talented employees. Management is the problem.

          ICR2015-10-05
        Found 44 reviews