IDEXX Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor

IDEXX Laboratories Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
IDEXX Laboratories CEO Jay Mazelsky
Jay Mazelsky
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great paid time off, great team work(in 39 reviews)

  • "good benefits, growing company, great environment(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MLT II HISTOLOGY TECHNICIAN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDEXX Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work at.

    Cons

    None, everything and everyone is great.

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-09-08
  2. "Best call center to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Consultant III in Westbrook, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDEXX Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They take care of us so we can take care of the customer. The benefits are fantastic. Endless opportunities for resume-building and advancement, and management is supportive of this.

    Cons

    Work-life balance in the call center isn't great. Feels understaffed a lot of the time. Not a lot of understanding or flexibility for life events. You get to go home, sure, but you come back to a verbal warning, and enough of those get you fired. If you get sick a lot, or have people or children under your care and need a flexible schedule, this probably isn't the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    I know that these orders come from the top, so I'm not sure if this will reach anyone that can make a difference, but try to remember that we are people, not robots. There are some perks that are designed to show appreciation for us, but you can't just put cupcakes in and get perfect performance out. Sometimes we have a hard time or a bad day, and it feels disingenuous when our emergency is met with compassion at... first and then we're reprimanded when we get back. I've felt inadequate for a long time, but I'm starting to take it less personally and realize I'm only human and maybe this position isn't for me.

    Show More
    IDEXX Laboratories2019-11-24
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IDEXX Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Pay is great, culture is great

    Cons

    Company is large, management can be overbearing

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-11-21
  4. "Laboratory technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician 

    I worked at IDEXX Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Great place , learned a lot .

    Cons

    Too much favoritism , not paid well

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-11-14
  5. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDEXX Laboratories full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, especially paid time off and living wages.

    Cons

    Corporate management styles and lack of compassion for employees.

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-11-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Inconsistent job descriptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Westbrook, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDEXX Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great benefits, pleasant people to work with. People are invested in doing well, and enjoy the knowledge we're helping animals. Business is dynamic and innovative, always new ideas and discoveries in the making.

    Cons

    Inconsistent competency among staff and management; select people singled out and promoted repeatedly. Work/ life balance can be challenging if you don't set your own boundaries. Poor communication due to too many layers of management, which results in the top and bottom levels having poor alignment and communication. Job titles/descriptions don't match the external alignment for the role. Pay is often somewhat... below market rate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall, the company works really well, but sometimes it's in spite of itself. Refine your management structure and have established communication plans for the programs in place so the employees executing plans are aware of end goals and needs. Allow these same employees to provide valuable input so management doesn't run with a program that's flawed to begin with. Ensure your staff have opportunities for... multilevel discussions, especially on the clinical side of things, to get full picture before running with an idea.

    Show More
    IDEXX Laboratories2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good on the face, changes once you get in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Technical Support Representative in Westbrook, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IDEXX Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much here, there are some good people, sound products/tech but that's about it.

    Cons

    - Nothing like what they portray themselves as publicly - Had Doctor appointment scheduled before I accepted job, interviewers said "No problem" training and management then told me the week before the appointment I could not go. - Every job in their call center starts at the same rate regardless of experience, job or training. Example: One department has a week of training, 15m avg calls and not much overtime. ... Another has 6 weeks of training, 2+ hour calls and lots of forced overtime. No pay disparity between the two. - They over staff and under pay then make floor employees stretch themselves thin doing projects rather than employing an appropriately paying people as in that role. - Almost impossible to get time off unless you have kids. People without families at home are not as important as others in every way. - Trying to make arrangements to leave on time you are scoffed at and viewed as a bad employee just for having the nerve to ask for assistance leaving on time and having a life outside of your job. - schedules are constantly changing every day. Rather than staff accordingly and have shifts they go by seat of the pants so your start time is different every day with no way to check your schedule unless you are at work. This also makes it easier for them to over staff and use that as a reason to push projects that are not a part of your job on floor employees. - If you do not participate in community events, games, team outings you are ostracized by the company. - They claim open door policy then when you bring your concerns to management you are scoffed at and treated like there is something wrong with you. - They prefer to hire untrained people off the street with no experience so they can underpay and bring experienced people down in wages. - Attempted to go to the doctor multiple times over the course of my employment and every time was told I needed to reschedule, ongoing health issues did not matter to the company. I lost depression and anxiety medication due to having to pushed appointments out three months. So I completely gave up on my mental and physical health due to this. - Certain members of management are very likely to stretch the truth to fit their ideals and make themselves look better in any given situation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Stop taking advantage of inexperienced employees. - Allow people to go to the doctor when they need too. - Realize that people that don't have families at home are people too. - Prepare your new hires for changing work schedule, pay disparities, how hard it is to get time off for personal or medical reasons. - Stop pushing your culture on people. If someone doesn't want to socialize (team outings, BBQ's etc.... ) that doesn't mean they are a bad person or something wrong is with them. - Realize that 99% of your employees are their for a paycheck and nothing more and that there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. - Don't lie to people in interviews.

    Show More
    IDEXX Laboratories2019-11-25
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specimen Processor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDEXX Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benifets, the people working there

    Cons

    Hours, drivers can be a pain

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-10-22
  9. "Benefits are great but Culture needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IDEXX Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are great. They also give stock options and virgin pulse

    Cons

    Culture Long Hours A lot of overtime

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDEXX Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours, coworkers, salary was decent

    Cons

    management, lack of communication, poor training

    IDEXX Laboratories2019-10-14
Found 583 reviews