IDS (International Decision Systems) Reviews | Glassdoor

IDS (International Decision Systems) Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
IDS (International Decision Systems) CEO David Hamilton (no image)
David Hamilton
2 Ratings
  1. "Perfect size company with lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Nice people. Loyal customers. Lots of potential for company growth.

    Cons

    The customer is always first and that can derail plans and release cycles.

    Advice to Management

    Management should bring back the 401K!

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2015-04-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and awesome people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership and open communication channels. I appreciate the willingness of managers across departments being open to ideas and collaboration. Great corporate culture with fun people that work hard, but understand a personal life/work balance. Some flexibility with work schedule and very confident employees will get things done without micromanagement. A lot of trust in each other as a team.

    Cons

    Some inefficiencies when it comes to communication across different departments. The openness and willingness to discuss and transfer knowledge is there, the effectiveness leaves some to be desired.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to get communication across departments more effective. When things start to go wrong, help teams collaborate to bring about changes rather than bandaid solutions. We should work to fix mistakes not create workarounds.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2014-11-20
  3. "Challenging but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are held to high standards, the work is challenging and you are given a fair amount of responsibility. You learn a lot. Not only do you learn about the software that the company maintains, but you learn a lot about the industry. It can be pretty interesting. You work with some of the biggest fortune 100 and 500 companies in the country and get great visibility to their businesses. Great for networking. Pretty... great perks (PTO, benefits, salary), you work in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, which is a huge plus especially for the summer time. Once you are in, they really do seem to go to bat for you and really want to make sure you stick around. The average employee has been here for 8-10 years, so a lot of tenure. Good transparency between management and the teams.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is very little to no training and this is a huge problem in the company. It will take you 1 year (avg) to feel comfortable on the job because you have to learn so much on your own. I hope that this can change. Some of the teams have an Us vs. Them mentality which can hurt the culture. At times certain groups can be very clicky. Teams are silos of information and it can be difficult to figure out where to go to... get what you need to know. Because there is so much work to do and because of how challenging the work is, you can easily get the impression that people are not very friendly. Some clients are rude and this can make for a stressful team atmosphere. No 401k match. If you are on a support team, you will be very stressed and you will work way more than 40 hours a week. Some teams offer the ability for you to WFH while others don't which can create some issues. Some employees are required to fill out their time cards weekly, while others can never fill out their timesheets and still get paid, no consistency.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer training! There needs to be a training and development team here at IDS that takes on the task of training new hires and making sure the employees are up to date on industry standards. There should also be more of a focus on personal growth and development. Please institute a 401k match.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2014-11-21
  4. "Love the culture and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at IDS! I love the flexibility of the hours and really enjoy my co-workers!

    Cons

    Right now, I feel like I have a very good work/life balance. I can, however, slowly see that changing over time.

    Advice to Management

    Remain focused on providing a great product for our customers - but also keep in mind that your employees have lives outside of work.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2014-11-20
  5. "Lack of movement in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is fair for most positions.

    Cons

    New consultants brought in with no experience in the leasing industry nor the software so it is difficult for clients to feel comfortable with an implementation team. Work-life balance is disregarded when clients are pushing implementations, i.e. every large project.

    Advice to Management

    Consider rewarding employees with 401k match and better benefits.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2014-07-29
  6. "Open, flexible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Services in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, variety of projects, relatively flat/non threatening corporate culture

    Cons

    Still suffering from PTSD from the boom years, trying to rebuild. Amazing they're still alive. Excited for whats to come?

    Advice to Management

    Solid management team

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2013-07-09
  7. "Love many of the people working there - tough environment to stay in long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Personally and professionally challenging, work with some great people.

    Cons

    Customer base is getting restless - re-platforming the existing legacy product is consuming the company and will be difficult to pull off successfully. Lack of software license sales is hurting the ability to continue - where IDS will be in a year or two is anyone's guess.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2013-01-08
  8. "Join a Company on the verge of Something New"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, great people, opportunity to visibly contribute to the success of the company! People are valued.

    Cons

    Still getting people on board with the mission but it's building.

    Advice to Management

    Stay Accountable and stay focused! Continue to value people and provide challenges.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2012-06-04
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant II in Minneapolis, MN
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems)

    Pros

    flexibility, market leader in asset finance

    Cons

    seniority over ability is how compensation and employees are treated

    Advice to Management

    you can't teach an old dog new tricks. Redefining methodology is good, but you need the pieces to implement that methodology.

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2012-01-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Product Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IDS (International Decision Systems) full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work at

    Cons

    Challenging product needs to be invested to learn

    Advice to Management

    NOne

    IDS (International Decision Systems)2018-12-16
Found 58 reviews