IDT Reviews in Newark, NJ | Glassdoor

IDT Newark Reviews

Updated August 20, 2017
53 reviews

Filter

Filter

Newark, NJ

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Samuel Jonas
16 Ratings

53 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good work life balance, decent benefits, nice co-workers (in 8 reviews)

  • Wonderful work environment, new modern building (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • They will fire many valuable and hard-working employees just so upper management can continue to receive generous salaries and bonuses (in 4 reviews)

  • The company cares nothing about dedication and hard work anymore (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work. Executives are top notch people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good work environment. Coworkers are pleasant. Atmosphere is nice. Advancement is possible. Common area where you can play pool when you have free time

    Cons

    Area is depressing. Homeless people beg for money as you walk to get lunch. Have to be alert as you walk to car, bad area.

    Advice to Management

    Mentor and bring up the next generation. There is a lot of good talent out there. They need guidance to be able to succeed.

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We do have a great environment in the office! Pool and ping pong tables, arcade games and a flexible holiday schedule are just a few reasons that IDT is a great team to join.

    We employ a... More


  2. "IDT pros & cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Semi start up like. There is flexibility to interface with multiple departments and get work done.

    Cons

    Becoming too micro management from CEO level. There isn't much flexibility to step up.

  3. "Unprofessional Amateurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Newark, NJ
    Former Intern - Intern in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IDT as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Place and Building
    Gym
    Pool Table
    Air powered hockey table
    Basketball game machine
    Basketball tournaments
    Clean Kitchen

    Cons

    Unprofessional attitude
    Hal of the time their application is down so couldn't really work efficiently and still, they wanted me to work don't know HOW that works?
    No one really understands what's happening in the company and DO NOT HAVE ANY WORK PROCESS
    My manager appointed manager bothered to communicate to give me assignments and instead I was redirected to work with someone who THOUGHT she was a manager and had absolutely HORIBBLE mood swings.
    Attended several meetings to convey my project solution but every time they were rejected which was fine but I was absolutely pissed off when in the final meeting my SO CALLED MANAGER showed me the exact solution that I had given in the first meeting just by saying that this is how it should be! and I was like...... (totally numb) :/
    I have a very long list of such cons but I think I do not waste my time and energy even putting that stuff... so if you can judge by this... Don't join this company unless you do not have any other option left... KEEP THIS ONE THE LAST ONE!

    Advice to Management

    Have a professional attitude
    Have a work process that people can follow
    Have a proper management team who understand how to manage their employees and not just sit in their polished cabins shopping
    And much more.... just not interested again putting that up

    IDT Response

    Jun 6, 2017 – Director, IDT Ventures

    We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience interning at IDT. We have great pride in our internship program and are taking your feedback very seriously.

    Many of our past interns have had... More


  4. "Software development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Newark, NJ
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Newark, NJ

    I worked at IDT as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company has a friendly environment

    Cons

    Not enough communication among teams

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    Thanks for your suggestion! We are very proud of our newly created internship program and the very collaborative culture that supports it.

    We would like to hear more about how communication... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Nice place to work. Friendly environment. Casual atmosphere.

    Cons

    They don't appreciate devotion of hard-working employees who often put the company ahead of their personal lives.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to appreciate employees who devote their lives to the company.

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We try to always provide a great experience for all of our teammates and recognize those who make sacrifices to add even more to IDT.

    If you feel that's not the case, please speak up!

    We have... More


  6. "Long Timer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Management is understanding and help and \try to work with you. The company always finds a way to create new areas for the business.

    Cons

    Not a tremendous amount of growth in the industry and the company is suffering and there are not many chances to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Profits don't only belong to new lines of business. Take some time to run your businesses, Examine how things are done and audit the business practices for the existing businesses.

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    Thanks for the great feedback! We will definitely incorporate your feedback in our strategy discussions. It is always a delicate balance to maintain current lines of business while investing in... More


  7. "Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Intern in Newark, NJ

    I worked at IDT (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Team , extremely helpful. Most of them have a sound technical and mathematical background. Everyone is pretty hardworking that encourages you to do your job as well.

    Cons

    Overall the environment is relaxed but its hard to understand the impact of your work overall because of very disparate teams

    Advice to Management

    A more structured framework for cross - function interaction, more employee interface would

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    Thanks for letting us know. The internship program is currently structured to immerse you with a particular mentor but it is a great idea to have a rotational element too!

    We are a large... More

  8. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Newark, NJ

    I worked at IDT full-time

    Pros

    you can get touch with many technology,and have a good work balance ,you can work at home

    Cons

    it is not convenient to get guide,sometime you solve difficult problem cost a lot of time

    Advice to Management

    get more guide,more commmication in group

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We try our very hardest to be a good company, thanks for letting us know that we are succeeding there.

    There are many opportunities to work with cutting-edge technology at IDT, something we are... More


  9. "Great people but tough work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great co-workers, interesting projects and products

    Cons

    difficult management, not family friendly or flexible about work locations/ hours, high pressure environment

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees you value them... listen to their comments and provide positive feedback.

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We regret to hear that you didn't experience our value of putting family first.

    It is not always feasible to work remotely but we do have a flexible holiday schedule and a generous vacation... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent supportive place to work with opportunities to advance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Vice President in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Executive Vice President in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Exciting work environment, featuring many opportunities with new areas of work being added and expanding the current areas to overseas, also offers opportunities to be involved in community work, soup kitchen etc as part of your work day

    Cons

    Competitive and if you are not on your toes to produce , could result in dismissal, often you are in a certain department and though you have other valuable skills it is very difficult to move to other areas within the company

    Advice to Management

    TRY TTO EXPAND POSSIBILITIES FOR SOMEONE TO MOVE INTO OTHER AREAS OF THE COMPANY THAT WOULD UTILIZE SKILLS THAT AN EMPLOYEE HAS

    IDT Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We are glad to hear that you found a welcoming place in our supportive, exciting and entrepreneurial culture.

    Charity and community engagement are vital for us and allow us to live up to our... More


Showing 53 of 138 reviews
Reset Filters