IDT Reviews | Glassdoor

IDT Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Samuel Jonas
61 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "IDT Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time

    Pros

    IDT is very flexible with people, they recognize hard work and reward for it.

    Cons

    They downsize too often.

    IDT2018-04-17
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT

    Pros

    Office was renovated and that was nice

    Cons

    its not if the company will go down, more like when. Awful management, rampant nepotism, outdated technology, unwilling to pay for talent. Avoid working here if you can!

    IDT2018-05-21

    IDT Response

    May 29, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    Thanks for your unique perspective, we welcome more specific and concrete feedback from you either directly to Human Resources or through our message to the CEO portal. IDT has been in business for over 20 years and we will continue on longer than that into the future with our ...

    Show More
  3. "Change is in the air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I hear new tech all the time, getting to work on them and learn them is pretty cool.

    Cons

    The company should send it's employees to conferences and tech meets. Have more lunch and learn I hear about them but they don't happen.

    Advice to Management

    Lots has changed in a past few years but it's not enough. We need to seed more ideas and empower people to rise up for IDT. Help me help you

    IDT2018-03-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Uninspiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time

    Pros

    Good vacation time. New offices.

    Cons

    Difficult team members. Lots of history that they are having trouble shedding to bring the company to the future

    Advice to Management

    Encourage the good people and get rid of the people who don't want to move forwards, grow and work to be better together. Embrace the future.

    IDT2018-04-17

    IDT Response

    April 23, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    Thanks for noticing our generous vacation time, and we are indeed proud of our new offices. However, we don't feel it appropriate for you not to address these issues with us. Please reach out to your manager, HR, or feel free to send a message to Bill directly from the company ...

    Show More
  5. "Entrepreneur's Paradise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most entrepreneurial culture ever. Good benefits, free employee parking, in office gym If you have an idea for a new business, it could actually happen

    Cons

    Need more investment in training, not everyone is so entrepreneurial that they figure everything out on their own

    Advice to Management

    Invest in growth areas of the business, retrain staff for new business needs

    IDT2018-02-05
  6. "Scrappy telecom company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time

    Pros

    Innovating new products, leaders in their space (for example cardless phone cards), very smart tech teams.

    Cons

    Old school hierarchical management - with some penetration of agile (scrum), jira type tools etc. and some penetration of CI - but not across all teams. Internecine territories well staked out. Upper management (not mid level) has struggled with corporate direction as margins shrink in traditional telecom.

    Advice to Management

    Flatten the hierarchy. More corporate transparency. Allow cross-team fertilization and migrations to keep developers fresh.

    IDT2018-01-29
  7. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment, good pay

    Cons

    the location was my main concern

    Advice to Management

    none

    IDT2018-01-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Take what you can and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Beautiful, professional and entrepreneurial environment. -Great pople, company-wide (with occasional exceptions) -Gym, kitchens, pool-table, etc. -Company-wide events to celebrate holidays with catered food, music, beer, etc. -Good work/life balance - very family oriented (many parents)

    Cons

    -Promotions seem to be based on seniority (10+ years) or because you are related to senior staff. -Compensation is lower than industry average for several types of roles -The software is completely outdated company-wide

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention to who your rising stars are and get them more involved with bigger projects. If someone is consistently delivering a sub-par output in their senior role, consider changing the situation.

    IDT2018-01-17
  9. "Retail Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time

    Pros

    Is very flexible, you make your own schedule. As long as you produce your goal level you will be fine.

    Cons

    They use Visit Eye now to keep track of your daily work schedule.

    IDT2017-12-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1. Leadership really knows what it is doing, especially with agile leadership. 2. Family owned company culture throughout.

    Cons

    1. Benefits package for new employees starts after 90 days.

    Advice to Management

    1. Continue to provide great leadership.

    IDT2017-11-20

    IDT Response

    February 16, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    Thank you for the feedback!

Found 168 reviews