IDT "friendly environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

IDT Employee Reviews about "friendly environment"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Samuel Jonas
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment (sport facilities, relaxation rooms, comfortable conference rooms, well designed kitchens - cafetieres, parking garage)(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance - very family oriented (many parents)(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Traffic jams in Newark, especially in downtown where IDT building is located can be stressful sometimes(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management (not mid level) has struggled with corporate direction as margins shrink in traditional telecom(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "friendly environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    collaborative and friendly environment. Good work life balance. Hard work is appreciated by business. Superior benefits. Everyone counts.

    Cons

    Somewhat of a disconnect between management and employees. Some depts can use better career growth and newer technologies.

    Advice to Management

    Bridge the gap between all levels. Be more transparent about projects. If pulling the plug due to lack of interest. Keep atmosphere upbeat. Don't overhire and then have constant threat of layoffs; robbing employees peace of mind. Invest more in keeping cutting edge in product development. You were the innovators of VOIP, continue being the leaders.

    IDT2017-10-18

    IDT Response

    October 24, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We appreciate your honest feedback and are taking steps to increase the visibility of projects that we work on internally. That is often challenging with an organization our size and we acknowledge that we can always do better with communicating out to the various areas of our businesses. ...

    Show More
  2. "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time

    Pros

    friendly environment, great co-workers, team players, passion and vision for a greater future

    Cons

    poor communication skills about where company is heading, very minimal work from home options

    Advice to Management

    flexible work hours to help employees

    IDT2017-08-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work. Friendly environment. Casual atmosphere.

    Cons

    They don't appreciate devotion of hard-working employees who often put the company ahead of their personal lives.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to appreciate employees who devote their lives to the company.

    IDT2017-01-05

    IDT Response

    March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We try to always provide a great experience for all of our teammates and recognize those who make sacrifices to add even more to IDT. If you feel that's not the case, please speak up! We have an open door policy with our executives and human resources department to make sure ...

    Show More
  4. "Great Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time

    Pros

    Many projects, friendly environment, diverse cultural employees, smart executives, many new projects with high upside growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Low pay, no one from management leaves making it harder to be promoted, the pinless business is losing a lot of revenue due to VOIP competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Motivate employees well, excellence should be noticed and promotions should be applied. Employees that are just sticking around for years but do not offer much to the company should be let go.

    IDT2016-12-28

    IDT Response

    March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    While we agree that we are a great place to work, there is always room for improvement. That's why IDT is always adding new areas to our business and investing in growth opportunities. The variety of projects that you mentioned are exactly how we plan on continuing our business into ...

    Show More
  5. "Customer Service outcalls to potential clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Project Assistant in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IDT full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Everyone one is professional and very friendly environment.

    Cons

    The phones became a burdensome because there were no use of a headset.

    Advice to Management

    When hiring for the position of customer service use headsets to make an employee comfortable in using the phones

    IDT2014-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Financial accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Accountant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IDT full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Relaxed and friendly environment to work in.

    Cons

    There is a lack of progression due to structural limits.

    IDT2018-11-15
Found 167 reviews