IDT "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

IDT Employee Reviews about "work environment"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Samuel Jonas
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment (sport facilities, relaxation rooms, comfortable conference rooms, well designed kitchens - cafetieres, parking garage)(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance - very family oriented (many parents)(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Traffic jams in Newark, especially in downtown where IDT building is located can be stressful sometimes(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management (not mid level) has struggled with corporate direction as margins shrink in traditional telecom(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great work environment (sport facilities, relaxation rooms, comfortable conference rooms, well designed kitchens - cafetieres, parking garage). Friendly and relaxed relationship among workers and with management as well.

    Cons

    Traffic jams in Newark, especially in downtown where IDT building is located can be stressful sometimes.

    IDT2018-05-07
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment, good pay

    Cons

    the location was my main concern

    Advice to Management

    none

    IDT2018-01-11
  3. "Great place to work. Executives are top notch people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good work environment. Coworkers are pleasant. Atmosphere is nice. Advancement is possible. Common area where you can play pool when you have free time

    Cons

    Area is depressing. Homeless people beg for money as you walk to get lunch. Have to be alert as you walk to car, bad area.

    Advice to Management

    Mentor and bring up the next generation. There is a lot of good talent out there. They need guidance to be able to succeed.

    IDT2017-03-07

    IDT Response

    March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We do have a great environment in the office! Pool and ping pong tables, arcade games and a flexible holiday schedule are just a few reasons that IDT is a great team to join. We employ a merit-based promotion methodology and are always revisiting how our teams can deliver the ...

    Show More
  4. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in Elizabeth, NJ

      I worked at IDT

      Pros

      Good company to work for, good benefits and work environment, flexible days off, family oriented.

      Cons

      Reactive not Proactive, It costs more money and time.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to suggestions from employees at times.

      IDT2016-09-22

      IDT Response

      March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

      Family and work life balance are very important when we consider what our values are as an organization. IDT also values planning ahead, setting achievable goals, and anticipating issues so they would have a minimal impact. We would like to hear more about how you would pursue ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Excellent supportive place to work with opportunities to advance."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Vice President in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Exciting work environment, featuring many opportunities with new areas of work being added and expanding the current areas to overseas, also offers opportunities to be involved in community work, soup kitchen etc as part of your work day

      Cons

      Competitive and if you are not on your toes to produce , could result in dismissal, often you are in a certain department and though you have other valuable skills it is very difficult to move to other areas within the company

      Advice to Management

      TRY TTO EXPAND POSSIBILITIES FOR SOMEONE TO MOVE INTO OTHER AREAS OF THE COMPANY THAT WOULD UTILIZE SKILLS THAT AN EMPLOYEE HAS

      IDT2016-08-26

      IDT Response

      March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

      We are glad to hear that you found a welcoming place in our supportive, exciting and entrepreneurial culture. Charity and community engagement are vital for us and allow us to live up to our mission of giving back to the community. We do have a variety of ways to gain more skills ...

      Show More
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at IDT

        Pros

        Great company to work at. Management is very concerned at keeping a good work environment.

        Cons

        Too many hours. Some days may be very long.

        IDT2016-08-15
      • Helpful (4)

        "Stressful work environment/Poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at IDT

        Pros

        The people, the actual workers, are some of the best people around. They are hard-working, dedicated, and make the work environment fun and entertaining. The company used to recognize hard work and dedication with salary increases and bonuses.

        Cons

        The company cares nothing about dedication and hard work anymore. They always look to nickel & dime their employees by applying salary cuts and firing those with the highest salaries, regardless of their dedication, work and past contributions. They will fire many valuable and hard-working employees just so upper management can continue to receive generous salaries and bonuses. The work of the terminated employees gets...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay more attention to your actual workers. Reward the loyal and talented employees that are willing to assist the company and go above and beyond the call of duty. Focus less on providing generous bonuses to management.

        IDT2016-07-31

        IDT Response

        March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

        We are working hard every day to improve IDT and the experience of our teams and are glad to hear that you know our teammates are as great as we know they are. We currently provide generous compensation for all levels of the organization and are examining employee workloads to ...

        Show More
      • "Data Center Tech/ Deployment Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Data Center Systems Support/Deployment Engineer in Newark, NJ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at IDT

        Pros

        Flexible schedule, relaxed down to earth work environment, 5 weeks vacation for employs who have 10+ years, full benefits package, 15% discount on my Verizon bill for being an employ.

        Cons

        Very little to no room for advancement, small pay increase per year if any, obvious nepotism within the company. Closed minded management

        Advice to Management

        Further consideration should be taken to promote employees from within and not leave people to do the same job for years with no forward thought to advance unless someone quits or gets fired.

        IDT2016-05-09
      • "Wealth of Opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at IDT

        Pros

        IDT is a publicly held company that operates with an entrepreneurial spirit. There are policies and well defined processes to ensure quality service for customers and a good work environment for employees. In addition, new ideas for growth are welcomed and there are always new ventures in development. It is a growth oriented company and is not satisfied just doing the same things day after day. While there is management...

        Show More

        Cons

        Employees are very passionate and we all want our projects to get immediate attention and available resources, which is not always possible.

        IDT2016-04-19
      • "the right place to grow"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at IDT full-time

        Pros

        excellent work environment very talented people high flexibility no restrictions for travels career opportunities financial stability

        Cons

        low synergy between different divisions

        IDT2016-04-12
      Found 168 reviews