IDT "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

IDT Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Samuel Jonas
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment (sport facilities, relaxation rooms, comfortable conference rooms, well designed kitchens - cafetieres, parking garage)(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance - very family oriented (many parents)(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Traffic jams in Newark, especially in downtown where IDT building is located can be stressful sometimes(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management (not mid level) has struggled with corporate direction as margins shrink in traditional telecom(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Take what you can and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Beautiful, professional and entrepreneurial environment. -Great pople, company-wide (with occasional exceptions) -Gym, kitchens, pool-table, etc. -Company-wide events to celebrate holidays with catered food, music, beer, etc. -Good work/life balance - very family oriented (many parents)

    Cons

    -Promotions seem to be based on seniority (10+ years) or because you are related to senior staff. -Compensation is lower than industry average for several types of roles -The software is completely outdated company-wide

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention to who your rising stars are and get them more involved with bigger projects. If someone is consistently delivering a sub-par output in their senior role, consider changing the situation.

    IDT2018-01-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    collaborative and friendly environment. Good work life balance. Hard work is appreciated by business. Superior benefits. Everyone counts.

    Cons

    Somewhat of a disconnect between management and employees. Some depts can use better career growth and newer technologies.

    Advice to Management

    Bridge the gap between all levels. Be more transparent about projects. If pulling the plug due to lack of interest. Keep atmosphere upbeat. Don't overhire and then have constant threat of layoffs; robbing employees peace of mind. Invest more in keeping cutting edge in product development. You were the innovators of VOIP, continue being the leaders.

    IDT2017-10-18

    IDT Response

    October 24, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

    We appreciate your honest feedback and are taking steps to increase the visibility of projects that we work on internally. That is often challenging with an organization our size and we acknowledge that we can always do better with communicating out to the various areas of our businesses. ...

    Show More
  3. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at IDT full-time

      Pros

      Good work life balance, decent benefits, nice co-workers

      Cons

      Management can be improved. Paid holidays can be improved

      Advice to Management

      Look out for your good employees. Bring new technologies.

      IDT2016-09-11

      IDT Response

      March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

      IDT is proud of our commitment to work-life balance and our great culture. We have a generous vacation package and flexible paid holidays, but we would like to hear what your suggestions are at 973-438-1000 or contactidt@idt.net Our newly created emerging technology division is ...

      Show More
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      The work has a greater purpose - serving immigrant communities Work life balance is respected Entrepreneurial place with multiple growth opportunities Awesome office environment recently renovated and centrally located Employees empowered to make a difference

      Cons

      Traffic in Newark can be tough during winter months but IDT has flexible start time so not so bad.

      Advice to Management

      I like the transformation going on at the company. Management trying to create a more dynamic workplace. Keep it going!

      IDT2016-03-22
    • "Principal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at IDT

        Pros

        Good pay. Work life balance

        Cons

        No clear growth paths i career

        IDT2016-02-11

        IDT Response

        March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

        We want to make that growth path clear for you! Succession planning is a vital activity for us, and if you'd like to get more involved, please let us know! Send a message to the president via the intranet and we will get you more concrete feedback.

      • Helpful (1)

        "could be a better place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at IDT full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        good people , latest technology - good work life balance

        Cons

        limited career growth, newark location hard commute

        Advice to Management

        provide employees more support

        IDT2015-08-17

        IDT Response

        March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

        We agree that IDT could be a better place and that's why we are always open to hearing about potential ways to improve. Please let us know what to do better at 973-438-1000 or contactidt@idt.net IDT is very entrepreneurial, which affords everyone the same opportunity to advance; ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (3)

        "OK"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Associate in Newark, NJ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at IDT full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        nice co-workers and decent work-life balance

        Cons

        employee health plan is poor used to be a lot more fun little opportunity for advancement

        Advice to Management

        It's hard to say what they could be doing better. The biggest challenge has been the downturn in the business, which only recently began to recover. It was painful to watch as the company went through round after round of lay-offs.

        IDT2014-03-19
      • "Not for the faint of heart"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Investor Relations Director in Newark, NJ
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at IDT

        Pros

        Entrepreneurial environment where new businesses are constantly popping up. If you can latch onto the right project at the right time there is the opportunity advance and carve out a piece of the pie. Great work/life balance - most people have families and don't work much after normal business hours.

        Cons

        The company has no clear strategy for growth or profitability. Most business units are just trying to keep projects in play so they can stay employed. the cash drain has slowed but things are still pretty precarious. The company will have to start generating free cash flow soon or find a source of funding.

        Advice to Management

        Lock yourselves in a conference room until you figure this thing out.

        IDT2009-02-11

        IDT Response

        March 23, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition, Development, and Retention

        We agree with some of your assessment for sure! It's definitely a fast-paced environment with a ton of opportunity. It's even encouraged for our teammates to come up with new areas for the business to expand into and bring it to the executives. We disagree, however, that there ...

        Show More
      Found 167 reviews