IGI Global Reviews | Glassdoor

IGI Global Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
IGI Global CEO Dr. Mehdi Khosrow-Pour (no image)
Dr. Mehdi Khosrow-Pour
36 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "The Literal Worst Place I've Ever Worked (And I've Worked in Food Service)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My only fond memories of this place were the people that I directly worked with that were not sucking up to management, and my first weeks there when I wasn't fully aware of how horrible a place to work this is. My and my coworker's mutual lowered spirits and continual battering from upper management bonded us encouraged many a talk about how soon we could "get out" and finally move to a place that would appreciate... us. I enjoyed getting to know my very under-appreciated coworkers and still enjoy speaking with them today. Thankfully many of them have moved on. Another final pro was having a short commute to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where to begin. So many cons to working at IGI Global. From the very beginning when I was hired right out of college and offered my first "real job", I was under-appreciated by being offered a salary that was amazingly low. Being brand new to the professional world, I didn't realize this at first, but after all of my predecessors moved on and I was offered the position to manage my department, my raise was so... insanely minimal that I was making the same as my newest employees (whom I helped to hire). Talk about taking advantage. Someone from upper management couldn't even look me in the eye as she offered me my "raise". I couldn't even ask for a greater raise to a salary I deserved, as the previous employee to do that was promptly fired. Thankfully I moved on to a company that actually appreciated my work, and paid me significantly more for a fraction of the work I was expected to complete at IGI. Salary aside, meetings with the owner were such a joke that I dreaded them every week. One week I would be (literally) yelled at for not having specific information and numbers right off the top of my head that he suddenly decided he needed. When I came prepared with that information the next week (because he finally calmed down and asked me to bring it the following week) the owner fell asleep while I presented this oh so important information (an no, I am not kidding. I had to say his name quite loudly to wake him up). After finally waking up, he proceed to (again, no exaggeration here) count the money that was in his pocket, read his receipts, and then leave the room without a word and return 15 minutes later with a cup of hot tea. Only then, once he had missed my entire presentation, did he begin yelling at me again. There was literally no point in presenting information to him, as he clearly didn't care about anything but yelling at his employees and expecting that to magically make the company do better. While most of my coworkers were lovely people stuck in a horrible situation, there were a few who would do anything to look good in the owner's eyes. When the owner was confused about an email update I sent to him each week and began asking someone who ran marketing why some information didn't look to be updated, the the marketing employee immediately blamed me and said that my numbers had to be wrong, and searched through the rest of the report and began accusing me of not making any changes to my own information and not doing my job, when none of that was being questioned at all. I finally had the chance to explain that the owner was looking at the wrong email update and that all was well, but I was appalled that another manager would so quickly rip me apart to make him and his department look better, rather than rationally assessing the situation and asking me personally where the problem may have stemmed from. Communication in non-existent at IGI Global, and with the fear that anyone may be fired at the drop of a hat, those looking to stick around are quick to belittle and trash their fellow employees. Wonderful teamwork environment.... Finally, I could go on about the lack of an actual HR department, lack of training to anyone in a new position, and lack of care for the quality of their publications. There were many a meeting I sat in where the owner said, quite clearly, that checking for plagiarism wasn't our problem and if any legal action ever comes, we have a copyright agreement saying we can shuffle it off on the authors....but many other reviews below have already touched on that, so I'll let you check them out for yourselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please just sell the company to some who: 1) Knows what they are doing and how to run a publishing company 2) Appreciates their employees 3) Actually cares about the quality of what they publish

    IGI Global2015-10-09
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Stay away Little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Hershey, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex time as long as your manager allows you. Some departments are allowed to come in earlier to leave earlier, some are encouraged to come in earlier, but leave at the later time.

    Cons

    I wouldn't stress working over 40 hours if the salary hit the 30 mark, but to give 10 extra hours of your time for a wage equivalent to working at Walmart? No thanks. To the comment about working where you want to live and that IGI Glob is the only publisher around... Yeah, ok. People laugh at the fact they call themselves a publisher. They are a mockery to others in the publishing industry and the CEO makes 7... figures a year on the record, on the record seven figures, while his employees are brought in at 28,000. He makes seven figures on the record for copy and paste material. He makes seven figures a year with only having 50 employees. What?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Publish for comedy writers because that place is a joke.

    IGI Global2015-10-08
  3. Helpful (9)

    "The Things One May See as an Intermediary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting some of the most wonderful people you will ever have the pleasure to work with; although it will not last, as the company needs to insert a revolving door, making it easier for those they expend at will. The luncheons were good.

    Cons

    Unfortunately theses wonderful employees are under a rule polluted in arrogance and doltish management. The company begs for leadership, but the CEO is unwilling to dedicate training time. HR created and put forth monthly leadership training modules, which they also conducted to save the company thousands per month. They only ran for two hours per session, but was seen as a waste of production time by management.... To IGI Global, investing time into your leaders so they can work more efficiently and ethically is a waste of two hours per month. The luncheons are most likely not the regales they once were, since prepared sandwich cuts are much cheaper and much easier to coordinate. Because homemade vegan dishes were prepared to suit the diet of a few employees, HR was yelled at by someone at an executive level, stating HR needs to stop catering to a select few. They failed to understand inclusiveness. Something that is contagious amongst management. Most disturbing was the way HR was treated during an investigation of a sexual harassment case. After statements were taken from the employees involved, HR received a phone call from the CEO stating, "You not the police. You don't take statement." When the CEO was reminded of HR's obligation to the employees and EEOC, he countered "You work for me, not state of Pennsylvania. If don't like, I can fire you and you can work there." Needless to say, HR felt threatened and needed to close the case the best they could with the pressure from above. From that moment on, the environment grew virulent for Human Resources and the department was disbanded a few months later, spreading the work out amongst three managers. Leaving yet more people to work in human resources without the experience or the education. Related? Who knows?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't care enough to offer advice. Go under. Please.

    IGI Global2015-09-29
  4. Helpful (10)

    "This place gave me abused dog syndrome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global

    Pros

    Nice building. Met some awesome colleagues, non of which are there anymore.

    Cons

    I worked there a while ago so I'd like to think things may have changed, but based on the reviews it doesn't sound like it. Not only was turnover high (which is totally dumb to me- as important as money is to the CEO, you would think he would know that it costs a lot of money to retrain people in positions), but it was a pretty abusive environment and I'm surprised he hasn't been sued yet. During my time frame there... I had seen tax evasion, sexual harassment (this is a different situation than what others have posted on this site - a client who was years and years older than me had hit on me in a really gross way and I reported it, to which the CEO told me I asked for it), and mass firings- not to be confused with mass layoffs. This was a mass firing. The CEO had asked me to do an audit on my department and where we were spending our time. I prepared the report, presented it to him and gave my educated feedback on where we could better spend our time. This resulted in extremely one-sided and unprofessional yelling on the CEOs part because he couldn't "believe we were spending our time on some of the things we were". Well, we had spent our time doing those things because he asked us to. The meeting became so heated that I asked that we continued in the morning (it was 7 pm at that point) when we were both a little more calm (he made me cry). The next morning, I was fired...and 15 minutes later he fired the entire department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I hope some day you will truly understand the affects you've had on the people who have been good and hard workers for you. You've affected whether or not they can feed their kids or pay their mortgages because you have temper tantrums. I would not classify the CEO of this company as kind in any way- it's not just a bad place to work, I feel for the people who still know him and are forced to be in his presence.... It's stressful.

    Show More
    IGI Global2015-09-25
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Abandon hope all ye who enter here..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time

    Pros

    As many current and former employees will tell you, there are no real pros to working at IGI. So, in an effort to highlight the issues that really get to the heart of this organization, below is a list of the things that are important at IGI, and a list of those things that are not. Things that are important 1. Money. It is everything. It is number one. You will make money no matter what else it costs you. 2.... The numbers. This is a close second. Nothing says success like easily manipulated statistics that tell only one side of the story. For instance, it’s much more important to display these numbers on big screen TVs all over the building then it is to pay your employees a wage that matches the hours they pour into your company. 3. Quantity. Quantity and quality are the same thing. This is a direct quote. If you’d like an impassioned speech about this, consult upper management. 4. Timeliness. If you are late, it’s a big deal. You are being watched, through windows, over cubicle walls, and when your back is turned. But it’s ok, because you’ll be watched even when your back isn’t turned. The henchmen circulate and pear over shoulders, and they aren’t subtle about it. 5. Fewer breaks. You will take them by yourself (breaks in groups of 2 or more are prohibited). In fact, if you can keep from taking a break even by yourself, that would be best. You’ll be allowed to get a drink and go to the bathroom, and who needs longer breaks than that? 6. Money. Oh, I already mentioned this one. Well, it needs to be repeated. 7. No talking. It’s very important to have a hushed prison-like environment. Too much talking leads to insubordination. 8. Money. It’s important. It gets the first and last word.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things that don’t matter 1. Quality. Since quality and quantity are the same thing, it doesn’t really matter what kind of shape your final product is in. Plagiarized? No big deal, it’s only 80% not 100%. Republishing stuff we’ve published before at a new and higher price? Totally legit, should’ve thought of it earlier. Barely in English? Um…who said the books had to be in English?!? Just run it through google... translate. Money’s too important to spend on copy editing. 2. Your health. If you get sick, you will take a PTO day. But not more than 1 or 2 because that’s irresponsible. Much better to come in and infect your fellow employees and run yourself ragged at your desk. 3. How late you stay at night. Don’t worry, those monitoring the doors and windows leave at the end of the day. Then it’s just you, your deadlines, and the lingering threat of being fired, and you’ll be amazed at how long you can keep going. 4. Your deceased loved ones. If the funeral of a loved one has the misfortune of following on a weekday, be prepared to take some PTO. That’s what it’s there for. In fact, feel free to use all your PTO during the grieving process. It’s not like you need it for anything else. 5. Your emotional well-being. Don’t worry, you’re not expected to have a life outside work. In fact, it’s really not a good idea. Leave the cell phone at phone. You won’t be allowed to use it at your desk, even during your lunch break, unless you want to risk being yelled at. 6. Sexual harassment. If you don’t want to feel uncomfortable with the way you’re talked to as a woman, you should really just keep your head down and your mouth shut. 7. Doing taxes honestly. Because everyone enjoys sidestepping the IRS, and nobody really needs an honest employer you can trust and respect. Plus, more money. 8. Rewarding employees that stick around. IGI doesn’t know what this means. They think it means throwing a couple thousand to a department head who already has one foot out the door and should’ve been paid more than what they are currently making back when they were in a starting position. 9. Keeping employees that were just hired. Everybody’s replaceable. You are worth about as much as the computer in front of you. Probably less, the computer took time to install. 10. Training people to do their jobs. There’s no point. As soon as you think you have the rules figured out, someone who makes them will quit or get fired and you’ll have to start over again. 11. Knowing what your employees’ jobs actually are. It’s not only that upper management doesn’t care, it’s that they are incapable of understanding. They are too busy running around assessing the number of books produced to actually learn about the publishing process. 12. Knowing your employees names. See number 11. This is so unimportant the CEO makes jokes about it, within earshot of new employees. 13. Knowing the basic aspects of the publishing process. Again, see number 11. 14. Making sure your employees are happy. Seriously, we’ve been over this. Your happiness does not make money, ergo it is not important. 15. Making sure your employees don’t overextend themselves. You will have to take on the work of 3-4 people just to survive. And if you manage to actually do well for a short period of time, don’t worry, you’ll be rewarded with even higher expectations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees aren't quitting because they are young millennials that don't know how to work hard. They are quitting because they are treated like garbage. Anyone who has held an office job outside IGI knows that the way they treat their employees is not as normal as they pretend it is. It is borderline emotionally abusive, and an unhealthy work environment does not lead to a successful company.

    IGI Global2015-08-27
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Come work here is you like a quick revolving door to unemployment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office building is surrounded by lovely greenery (golf courses), building is clean, has adequate furniture, and has a sizable kitchen (though the office culture makes it taboo to actually spend any time relaxing over one's lunch in the kitchen).

    Cons

    People are horrendously overworked, carrying impossible caseloads of editors, many of whose books are of questionable scholarship and whose plagiarism is allowed to slip through the cracks because the bottom line is pumping out more books, no matter what. Staff are fired at the drop of the hat, without input from their immediate supervisors, without credible and adequate explanation; staff are also frequently... promoted before being fired. Office culture promotes fear and distrust of management and their toadies, anger at not having grievances listened to, and finally apathy because earnest and well-considered suggestions are ignored and it becomes clear upper management views staff as completely dispensable. Entire departments have been gutted at the drop of a hat, including people who tried to give notice of resignation and were promptly fired rather than their resignations accepted.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take some management courses to learn how to actually treat employees to maximize job performance.

    IGI Global2015-08-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrisburg, PA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is difficult for some to adapt to the corporate environment at IGI Global, but those that can will find opportunity and challenge.

    Cons

    Deadlines exist and are expected to be met - welcome to the real world. Frustrated employees have a tendency to bring their peers down rather than allowing the more positive peers to bring them up.

    IGI Global2015-05-31
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global full-time

    Pros

    The only pro at igi global is that you can quit when you find a better job and you'll be reminded of that option by the CEO several times a month.

    Cons

    If working at igi was a reality tv show no one would believe it is not scripted. Situation after situation, problem after problem and things just get worse and worse. If I had a dollar for every time I've heard 'if only I listened to the reviews on glassdoor and passed on igi' I would no longer need to work for igi. The CEO puts all his faith in the exact people he should be looking to remove from his employ. The... list of ridiculous reasons not to work is so long it could be a Twitter feed at this point. Some highlights are no hr department, documentation that prohibits part time employment during off hours as a condition of employment with igi, a turn over rate that equals 1 employee leaving per pay period, workloads that are literally ten times the average for similar positions with other companies at a pay rate roughly 10,000 dollars below said average, regular threats to your employment status (weekly) and complete incompetence displayed by the managerial staff. This is quite simply a terrible place to work. Your efforts are better spent elsewhere. Please stop your application process with igi global and sweep under the couch or sort your sock drawer. It's a much better use of your time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When you see the wizard, ask for a brain.

    IGI Global2015-06-25
  9. Helpful (7)

    "How is this company making money?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lebanon, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice location just outside downtown Hershey.

    Cons

    So many cons. Management stinks, you are constantly monitored....I should say overly monitored. The pay is terrible! Poor kids coming out college could make more at Costco. For real! Maybe it's a good place to start a career? It's certainly not a place you'll want to stay very long though. Don't bother applying.

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about employes and career development.

    IGI Global2015-06-24
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Movin on Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is nice to see most of my colleagues everyday. The bright faces of a few hopefuls, and many genuinely goodhearted people, keep me coming back.

    Cons

    While it is a pleasure to be around most of these amazing employees, I am gone as soon as I find work elsewhere. Flex time turned into flex time with a stipulation as they now demand you to take your breaks in solitude. That is right! You are told what to do with the time that you are not paid for. The building has a few informants that splay the blinds open each and every time they hear footsteps in the parking... lot; though, their hour and a half lunches are never monitored. We only receive one day of bereavement for the death of immediate family members (this is up one day from last year - yippee!), forcing us to use our well-earned personal time off to grieve. The absurdity of this one day allotment sincerely saddens many of us. Priorities within the company are an enigma to us all. For IGI, it is more important to display a paltry, productivity metric on two 60" plasma tellies, then it is to formulate an honest measurement of our productivity goals. IGI was more urgent, and thorough, in making everyone remove their unique MS profile pictures then there were in closing a few sexual harassment claims that went inconclusive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell, or give the company away if you must. Most of us may stay if you do.

    IGI Global2015-04-10
Found 46 reviews