IGI Global Reviews | Glassdoor

IGI Global Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
IGI Global CEO Dr. Mehdi Khosrow-Pour (no image)
Dr. Mehdi Khosrow-Pour
36 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Trash.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global

    Pros

    I liked watching people play golf across the street.

    Cons

    The "senior managers" most of the time have no experience in the department they are in charge of. They will promise you great career growth and direction within the company, this is a complete lie. All department managers are "too busy" to help younger staff with questions or tasks, instead, they direct a less experienced, and less qualified individual to train, teach, or provide you instruction and direction in... any task. The CEO is nonexistent, he is more an entity than a person. The most he is in the office is 3 times a week, and you'll never see him even if he is there, but you can hear him, yelling at people on the phone regarding furniture and remodeling that is taking place within the building. I have never met the CEO, nor do I have any desire too, he is feared more than he is respected, not to mention completely unpredictable. Being friendly with your coworkers is not encouraged and is actually indirectly frowned upon, you are expected to shut up and work for 8-10 hours a day, and not communicate with team members outside of team meetings. It's completely ridiculous, and the company is actually a joke. All employees here, except for maybe 5, are looking for new employment and despise IGI Global. The department managers will say that the reasoning for the horrible Glassdoor reviews are because people accept positions that they are "over qualified" for and are unhappy because they accepted a position that is beneath them. Sadly, the upper management at this company will never believe any of the negative reviews written on this website or anywhere else, they simply don't care. It's sad when the only good review son here are from people within upper management trying to boost the Glassdoor rating.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You all suck. Sell the company.

    IGI Global2015-04-10
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Do Not Apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hershey, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, monthly luncheons, flex time (expect this to go away), casual dress on Thursdays and Fridays, fairly standard health benefits, and high chance for advancement (because superiors leave or get fired).

    Cons

    This applies to MKP Technologies and everything under the MKP-Inc umbrella company (I'm sure it's to skirt some tax laws). What to say that others have not already. There is no loyalty to employees, they are not even treated as a number. Yet management expects your loyalty by underpaying and expecting to get over 40 hours of work out of you. At the beginning of the new year, eight new employees were hired across... two departments. Within three months, four of these employees have been laid off as well as a senior member of one of those departments. The decision to hire these new employees was handed down from the CEO with no input from the department then out of nowhere employees need to be cut within these same two departments with no reason given. Most likely it is to skirt something with FMLA. Additionally a sexual harassment report was filed by an employee (albeit a minor one) against a senior management member that was swept under the rug and was not be investigated as it was CEO's company and he will dictate what is to be investigated. The management strategy of the CEO and some of the Directors is a pressure filled "more until you break" management style. This creates a negative atmosphere and makes you brace for what tiny little negative thing is going to be focused on and throw a wrench into what your department is working on. He then expects these actions to be immediate and thus end up having many shortcomings instead of allowing the department to properly plan and implement his new initiatives. Do not ever expect a pat on the back. However you can expect the CEO to look around the room and look like he is half asleep when in meetings (on the weeks where spends a maximum of three days a week in the office). You can also expect to constantly wonder when it will be decided you are no longer needed. Responsibilities constantly get shifted around from one department to another depending on the turnover and managements willingness to replace people within certain departments. The CEO is also preoccupied with spinning off the IT team as MKP Technologies to which is causing issues with getting the proper IT support for projects and initiatives that he wants departments to implement. Also there are systems that could be used that would cut down on the chance of publishing plagiarized material however that is not as import as publishing content as quickly as possible and just trying to get it into contributor's university library.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't get rid of people who want more money or are looking for other employment or you would need to get rid of 90% of the employees. Don't treat HR as a luxury and actually treat your employees like human beings. Listen to your managers and don't make snap decisions then wonder why have them done as soon as possible. Or just sell the company... yeah, just sell the company.

    IGI Global2015-03-31
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Stressful, no leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recent policy changes make this feel like more of a normal workplace instead of a jail.

    Cons

    The owner suppresses and reprimands experienced, qualified employees, ones who are true experts in their fields, when they try to step up and take charge. He does not trust them and does not want them to have any control or meaningful authority in his company. This has caused us to lose many talented, competent employees. As a result, we're stuck with the leftovers to fill management positions, and suffer from lack... of leadership and expertise. The situation is made worse since the owner is hardly ever in the building and we're left with the inexperienced managers to run things.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employees are unmotivated and waste time throughout the day because of the lack of leadership and direction. Find and retain EXPERIENCED, QUALIFIED managers and actually let them run and take ownership of their departments and have real authority. Either that, or do it yourself by being in the office every day and taking an active role in the daily activities. Keep all of your employees on site, especially... managers. It is not helpful for us to have a manager working part time and remotely. They, of all people, are the ones who need to be in the building providing leadership. Get buy in from your employees before making hiring decisions, especially for managers, so that you hire people your current staff will actually want to work with. Recent unilateral hiring decisions have put a lot of stress on a lot of people. We all understand that it's your company and you can do what you want, but that approach is alienating you and making everyone very unhappy. Remember that the 50 or so human beings working here are the reason your company brings in the revenue it does. You could not do this all on your own.

    Show More
    IGI Global2015-04-01
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Welcome to the Worst Place You Will Ever Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The golf course next door will give you a very scenic view. The new HR guy is awesome and tries very hard to make the best of what is a horrible place to work and an upper management staff that is comprised entirely of arrogant people who have no idea (and no experience) in managing people.

    Cons

    Well there very many cons, in fact, for most people it is impossible to get their actual job done in a day. Between people giving tasks to do that either 1) make no sense and that are probably a mistake, maybe even a mistake that you will have to spend time fixing later in the week or 2) are just simply impossible to do. The people giving you advice about your job have never done your job before or maybe did that... job eight or so years ago, so they won't be able to effectively help you. People quit all the time after getting frustrated with the arrogant upper management, the poor communication and the minuscule pay. After they quit, get ready to take on all their tasks. No, this will not result in a pay increase or even a title change for you. While there are plenty of friendly people, there are also a lot of people with little patience, bad tempers or, in some very unfortunate cases, people who do not know how to conduct themselves properly in a work setting around ladies. And no, there is nothing that will be done about this by management. Women are treated very poorly here with no respect. You will worry every single day about whether or not you will get fired. Not because of anything you have done wrong, but just because you are aware of how easily the CEO will dispose of you. If you stay a couple weeks, a few people will have already been fired or quit before they were fired. The level of job security you will have is at zero, all the time. No one will listen to you, especially the upper management, you direct supervisors will try their best, but the CEO and Managing Director have final say and they don't care about you and will openly admit to not caring about you. The CEO has actually fallen asleep in meetings while being spoken to. He has also been known to count his money and randomly get up and leave during meetings as well. A word of advice, if you think all the negative reviews on here were just written by a small sampling of particularly mad people, it really isn't. In fact, there is a pact in the office that everyone has. The newest person is "protected" for their first two weeks, after which everyone starts revealing how bad things really are, how much of a struggle every day is for the employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Demolish and restart from the ground up. There is no foundation here to build on.

    IGI Global2015-03-18
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Deeply dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll get a crash course in some parts of the publishing industry. You'll probably be forced to develop good workplace discipline, though some of it will be of the "passive survival tricks" and "butt covering" sort, rather than the real proactive growth and professional achievement you'd really like. Due to the disproportionate number of young, underemployed people in the talent pool, some of your coworkers will be... really great. You may, if you can stick around a year or two, find yourself in a new role with new responsibilities. I was able to leave the job at work.

    Show More

    Cons

    The model is quantity over quality, with publications sold at high prices in a niche market that is somewhat captured, so job titles and experience here don't necessarily transfer elsewhere in the publishing industry. You might get better at project management or InDesign generally, but you won't get other kinds of professional development, be encouraged to or able to develop expertise, or have much opportunity to... innovate except in superficial ways. Emphasis is on appearance and numbers (however you get there...cutting corners, lowering standards, repackaging old content) over everything else, which frustrates quality employees and hurts the company's reputation. Most of the major problems of the company come from this: young, inexperienced employees can work with energy and dedication, but they don't necessarily have the skills and perspective work efficiently to professional standards. The company and its employees would benefit from mature, experienced professionals, but the owner doesn't want to pay them or listen to them, so you won't find them here. This is a symptom of the company's owner problem: he's largely absentee, but sporadically throws everything into tumult by acting controlling, demanding, and demeaning, and by firing people arbitrarily and also by firing them cyclically (usually for not meeting unreasonable goals). This is unfortunate since the system is built to produce what it always produces--low standard writing from desperate, inexperienced, or unreliable authors, poorly edited and produced, riddled with errors, at a rate that about ~40-50 constantly churning employees can produce. The owner won't ever be able to turn out more simply by firing employees who acknowledge this reality and replacing them with less experienced yes-sir-sayers who don't (yet) know better. I was there through two of these cycles. Those that succeed here long term are always myopic, either very driven or nose-to-the-grindstone hardworking, and either delusional or disengaged by necessity. Everyone else quits or is fired at a such a high rate that it is surprising the company continues to exist.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not sure if it would be possible to fix the toxic environment without a change in ownership.

    IGI Global2015-02-28
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Move on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global

    Pros

    If you enjoy listening to music, online radio, or podcasts, you can spend 8 hours of your day doing so.

    Cons

    The policies and standards the company operates on are archaic, annoying at best, and downright slave-like at worst. In my time there, a period of about 3 years both full-time and part-time, I saw more turnover rate per quarter than what is seen at your average fast food restaurant. While the mitigating factor for them leaving or quitting may have been different, the complaints near the end were all the same: skimpy... benefits, below-average compensation, and above-pay grade expectations. Almost everyone who I worked with was similar to me in that we all strove to not only complete our written responsibilities but go above and beyond in completing them. Was this ever recognized? No. Was this ever supported? No. Was this expected and were people reprimanded for not showing "commitment" by staying 2 hours late with no recognition or reward in the end? Yes. You can get better benefits working as a server in a busy restaurant and will make more money as well. I left IGI for a lower paying job because I did not want to be Milton from Office Space when I was under the age of 45. IGI left a bad taste in my mouth in regards to the publishing industry and I do place a part of my decision to make a complete career change on my experience with the company. The best things that came from that place is having a solid company on my resume, as it is a known name and appears as a career-focused job, and the day I put in my 2 weeks notice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your views on employees (labor versus collaboration), increase benefits and pay, and give recognition/promotion where and when it is due, not just because another person quit/walked out/got fired and you now need that role filled but don't want to actually pay a qualified person to fill the position.

    IGI Global2014-12-30
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Very fulfilling and great career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hershey, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global full-time

    Pros

    -Being a small company, the work I do has a significant, meaningful, and noticeable impact, which is very fulfilling. -I'm able to take ownership of my projects and ideas, and see them through to completion. No red tape or bureaucracy. -Good environment for brainstorming and collaboration, which provides a creative outlet. -Flexible scheduling. I've never had any issues taking time off or stepping out of the... office on occasion for personal matters. -Stability. I've never felt like my job was at risk due to economic factors or any other reason. -Career growth. I was able to advance to a higher position, take on additional responsibilities, and gained invaluable experience as a result. -Large, quiet office with a nice view over a golf course. -The owner provides gifts for special occasions and rewards for hard work. -Provided with every piece of software and hardware I could possibly need.

    Show More

    Cons

    No complaints. I can understand how some people might have difficulty adjusting to the "small company" type environment - it's not for everyone. For those who are self-starters and hard-workers, there are an abundance of opportunities to take advantage of.

    IGI Global2014-09-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging & Rewarding Career Move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed coming to work every day. The office environment was very clean, quite, and work friendly. I was provided with my own office (most of the employees had their own office, some had cubicals) that allowed me to be productive and uninterrupted during business hours. The office culture was relaxed and I felt very secure in the building. We all had responsibilities to accomplish and we were motivated by an... engaging management team that assisted and supported the tasks at hand. When I needed to take time off (scheduled or non-scheduled), the company was always accommodating. When I finally did leave after two years there to pursue a position with a new company, it was on the best of terms. It really wasn't until I started working here at my new job that I realized how much I had learned while working at IGI Global. Working there allowed me to identify and improve upon both my personal weaknesses and strengths, while also preparing me for what it's like working for a "larger" company as I do now. I've already received numerous praises in my current position due to what I learned while working at IGI Global.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you aren't the type of person who likes to be motivated and pushed to achieve achieve maximum results, IGI Global may not be the company for you. They strive for excellence in everything they do, regardless of the position you hold with the company. During my time there, I noticed that some people didn't respond well to this type of leadership and decided to move on elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. I know the younger staff may not always show their appreciation or acknowledge it now, but they are learning invaluable lessons about the real world. I'm extremely grateful for my time at IGI Global. Thank you!

    IGI Global2014-09-22
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Keep on Looking :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IGI Global full-time

    Pros

    It is possible you will get to work with great people all over the world. It is possible you will get your feet wet in the publishing industry. On day 1, you will be 1-2 years from being a manager -- which sounds like a good thing, but it's not.

    Cons

    You know those great people you get to work with? Well, to this company, a cheap book is a great book, and a cheap book is one the editorial staff doesn't have to spend time on. IGI has a shot gun editorial strategy, so deadlines and quantity is king. You will work with some great people, but not on their best stuff and you won't be encouraged to establish a real editor-author relationship with them, since that... takes too much time and expertise, two things you won't have or be encouraged to develop. You know how you wanted to go into the publishing industry? You will probably not after working here for all the reasons noted in the other reviews. Most people who leave do not get jobs elsewhere in the industry -- they go back to school, change careers, or join the military (give publishing a chance -- don't take this job). And the more you do learn about the industry, the more you will hate working for IGI. Oh, and you know how great management experience will be? Well, management at IGI means enforcing ever-stricter, morale destroying corporate policies and responsibility without authority. You will get the blame, get asked great questions like, "Your department is underperforming -- who do you need to fire?" and when something goes right -- wait -- all your goals will be based on fantasy not on any real data even though you could draw on years of stable data to predict exactly what will happen, so, sorry; nothing will ever go right (by design). But the real joy is that every raise you get will make your job less secure, because employees are viewed as an expense, not an asset. The CEO acts exactly as if he is the customer of your services and "the customer is always right" so you will get illogical, angry rants based on completely false assertions, accompanied by the same threats you might lodge at your cable company, which is a nice way to end the workday. Bottom line: everyday you spend working for this company will be a day you think, "I could have kept looking..." Keep looking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I doubt there is any point to this, but try to get some company values and stick with them. "Disseminating Knowledge" (giggle) is not a value. Annual socks and bottles of wine aren't values either.

    IGI Global2014-10-08
  10. Helpful (17)

    "If you want to work with no job security and be happy about it IGI Global is for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IGI Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Several good places to eat near office.

    Cons

    Let me be very clear on this company. There is a reason all of the negative reviews about IGI Global exist. There is a reason why all of the reviews mention the same 'con' points. There is a reason the publications produced here are the laughing stock among their peers. There is a reason the company has an insane turn-over rate. There is a reason why several area colleges discourage their students from accepting IGI... Global Internships. I have seen so many spririts broken under the roof of IGI Global and I am pleading with you to continue your job search elsewhere. This is, simply put, a terribly run company. The idea that this company is a place to get your feet wet for a career in the publishing industry is ridiculous. You will not learn how to work in the publishing industry here, because, as odd as this sounds, the focus of upper management is not on publishing. It is on dollar signs and nothing else. The workload is simply impossible to keep up with and has rought deep delays that have no end in sight. Salaries are extremely low. 90% of the compnay makes under $27,000 annually. Arrivals and departures are watched on a live feed and emails are tracked. While this seems like an innocent practice, it is more aptly described as a commentary on the deepening morale issue. This is a brutal job in an company that treats it's employees as an extention of a keyboard and nothing more. Send your resume somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Every decision you make, do the opposite. Things may actually imrpove.

    IGI Global2014-10-01
Found 46 reviews