IKO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

IKO Industries Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "good people good pay good benefits apprenticeships come up every few years(in 7 reviews)

  • "This company has a Good Management Team, also a great staff, there's always opportunity to move up, big company, good benefits(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very little one-on-one face time with upper management(in 3 reviews)

  • "Vacation policy is antiquated, start at 2 weeks no matter how much experience you have in the workplace(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Pry me from my desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer in Hillsboro, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exceptional local managers Exceptional safety culture Exceptional plant culture in general Its not perfect but it is definitely on the right side of great.

    Cons

    Its a little out in boonies and different divisions have there challenges. A little light on the salary and vacation but not to bad.

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2019-11-26
  2. "Great company, dedicated employees, growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to create your own schedule Fun and welcoming people to work with Good benefits Most managers are involved and open Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Changes are often made without sufficient communication Need to have a consistent company culture/work ethic throughout the company

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2020-01-30
  3. "OK pay but demanding environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Kankakee, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IKO Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is acceptable for the position Most of the workforce is pleasant

    Cons

    Expect to work far more hours than told in interviews, including expectations of weekend work, for salary members. Fast paced, agile, family owned = We are going to change production schedules so often your head will spin. Fair, ethical, honest, and open treatment of workers below superintendent not a given. Safety gets a lot of talk but resources are never allocated to back that up.

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2020-02-12
  4. "Organized & Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IKO Industries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    organized, on time, helpful, knowledgable

    Cons

    work to the life balance can be tough

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2019-09-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Motivated team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy working with everyone at IKO. It is definitely a results-focused business, and people are empowered and entrusted to find unique solutions. The people are nice and friendly, and everyone works hard and treats each other well.

    Cons

    The environment is very collaborative, so if you prefer to work best on your own rather than with a team, it might not be the best for you.

    IKO Industries2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Very nice people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at IKO are very nice and easy to get along with. They all clearly care about the products and the reputation of the company. We're all unified around the same goal.

    Cons

    The Canada and US operations are separate groups and companies which can be confusing sometimes.

    IKO Industries2019-06-17
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Values Based Company on the Rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales/Marketing Management in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family owned and operated, decisions made based on published core values, experienced leadership, focused on becoming world leader in the Roofing, Building Envelope and Waterproofing verticals. Massive investment in plant infrastructure, technology and IT enterprise in last decade. Recent brand revitalization.

    Cons

    Finding enough good people to help fuel growth

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2019-05-15
  8. "Elevating Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The past year at IKO, management has really shown a re-commitment to what matters: performance product innovation, relationships with contractors and distributors, and continuing to invest in branding.

    Cons

    Change doesn't come easy, so getting buy-in from everyone in a large operation can be tough.

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2019-06-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "It's a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright/Line Mechanic in Sumas, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IKO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to many tools, and enjoyed working with all the people that weren't upper management. Benefits package was standard.

    Cons

    I worked horrendous hours because they had trouble keeping mechanics - 6, 12-14hr shifts, alternating night shift every other week. Upper Management and Engineer's weren't willing to work with the mechanics/millwrights to find actual solutions to mechanical problems - I installed many 'fixes' that I had advised against stating they would not solve the actual issues, and in some cases make it worse. More often than not, I would be told to press on with the design created, which resulted in further down time when their designs failed. Had to fight for any increase in pay despite taking their Millwright tests.

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2019-06-17
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Great Company with Values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kankakee, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IKO Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been working at IKO Industries for over 20-years. This is a family-owned business who takes an active interest in their employees by constantly sharing and promoting the values that IKO was founded upon. They treat their employees with respect and offer competitive salaries and benefits. It is an expansive company that continues to grow and revamp their manufacturing an office operations worldwide, providing new or promotional employment opportunities. Even after all these years, I still think the employees including management are great to work with and I continue to be motivated to improve my performance at work.

    Cons

    None to report at this time.

    Continue reading
    IKO Industries2019-04-11
Found 69 reviews