KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

IMC Trading

Engaged Employer

IMC Trading

Add a Review

IMC Trading Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 162 of over 199 reviews
4.5
93% Recommend to a Friend
81% Approve of CEO

Found 151 of over 199 reviews

4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
IMC Trading Co-CEO IMC Financial Markets (no image)
IMC Financial Markets
88 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Very poor management, old technology.(in 9 reviews)
  • "life balance, long hours(in 7 reviews)
  • "The two managers were taking about more than everyone else (150 people) combined.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Bonus is a black box and most people have no clue how it is determined and why it is skewed the way it is.(in 4 reviews)
  • "High pressure and demand to deliver a lot with high quality in short time and then they point fingers when bugs are discovered here or there.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great culture, decent pay, wonderful people

    Aug 2, 2022 - Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The culture, activities, social events, 'feel' of company (casual and open) - Attracts genuinely kind, honest people who care about each other

    Cons

    - Remuneration is lower compared with other HFTs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    Jul 27, 2022 - Office Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, good life/work balance, awesome perks

    Cons

    The interview process was extensive

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best Trading Company in Chicago

    Jul 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As someone who has worked at different financial shops, IMC has truly stood apart in that it takes culture and collaboration as seriously as it says it does. Working at IMC, you'll be surrounded by the brightest minds in the industry in an environment that is conducive for collaborating and learning.

    Cons

    Be prepared for the direct nature of your coworkers. Everyone at IMC is not afraid to give feedback and it is important to not take anything personally.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Aug 3, 2022 - Quantitave Trader in Walnut, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company to work for and very fun

    Cons

    a lot of work to do

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Work Environment

    May 19, 2022 - Quantitative Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Culture - Pay - Flexibility in roles

    Cons

    - Hierarchy communication is difficult, so can feel isolated at times

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    HFT Firm

    May 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong at market making, algorithms

    Cons

    Not as strong in discretionary areas

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to work

    May 23, 2022 - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - IMC pampers its employees with tons and tons of perks and a really nice office - High tech company on the cutting edge of trading - More relaxed environment and friendly people than other trading companies - Good PTO

    Cons

    - Not enough managers, only engineers, and engineers usually aren't good at managing - Poor mentorship

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Lipstick on a pig

    Mar 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lot of great benefits. They pull all the right levers that make the work environment enjoyable. These include company trips, free lunches, gym memberships, events upon events etc. The perks are really nice and well thought out. The firm has done very well and so it is always nice to work at a winning team.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the perks and other benefits fail to mask the underlying decay that has been festering ever since I have worked here (and I have been here a long time). 1. VERY DUTCH - this is a forgone conclusion and in all fairness, they have tried to correct the issue somewhat. But then their words are betrayed by some silly action coming in from AMS. At the end, know that this is a Dutch owned and Dutch run company. Their culture and ways are very different from what we expect in the US. People are sent over from AMS to be the eyes and ears for the owners. 2. NO TRANSPARENCY - very little information on important things are shared. Bonus is a black box and most people have no clue how it is determined and why it is skewed the way it is. There is always "talking points" that try to explain but it fails every single time. This place has sued its own employees. Yes it has. Many years ago a bonus leak by HR caused a huge uproar and people were targeted and sued and fired (very Putin-ish). But most people never heard why that was the case, what was found, and why these harsh decisions where made. Then the Chicago CEO at the time, who had been at the firm a long time, was unable to communicate appropriately and just made things worse. A few years later, he was fired and no reason was given as to why he was let go. It seems like major decisions, that affect a lot of people, are glazed over - but hey we do get fresh free lunch!! 3. WEAK LEADERSHIP - when the above mentioned CEO was fired, there were a few good candidate that could have replaced him. Instead they picked someone who was moldable and would not be a threat to AMS. I like the guy who is the new CEO but I think he is way over his head when it comes to creating leaders and better managers. Not his fault, the firm does not have a good leadership program or the desire to want to hire great leaders from the outside. Again, in all fairness, they hired a couple of people from the outside and they were complete disasters. But they could have done a better job recruiting the right person instead of people connected to someone on the management team.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful

    IMC Trading Response

    Marketing and Branding Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. IMC got its start almost 35 years ago in Amsterdam and we’re really proud of our Dutch roots. We work hard to share and live IMC’s Values, including Taking Responsibility for Others as well as Yourself, Recognizing the Best Ideas Regardless of Hierarchy, and Making Things Happen Today—and Making Them Better Tomorrow. We believe the growth and success of our US operations, led by our current CEO for the past 5 years, reflect these values. As part of our IMC Values, we have a strong belief that opportunities should go to the most qualified team members, regardless of nationality or race. Our effort to provide clear, substantive, and transparent communication is also at the forefront of our efforts, as is our commitment to continue to grow and improve. That said, we all have areas for improvement and we encourage continuous feedback to help make our team better. I strongly encourage you to stop by my office and let your opinions be heard. My door is always open and I’ll do everything I can to make sure IMC is a place where our people understand and live our IMC Values. - Mel, Head of HR

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Review

    Dec 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, and great people.

    Cons

    None that I have seen

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Nov 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture. People are friendly

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 151 Reviews
</>Embed

IMC Trading Reviews FAQs

IMC Trading has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 199 reviews left anonymously by employees. 93% of employees would recommend working at IMC Trading to a friend and 83% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, IMC Trading employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at IMC Trading. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

93% of IMC Trading employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated IMC Trading 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at IMC Trading to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with IMC Trading Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at IMC Trading? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

IMC Trading

752 days ago

What are FPGAs and how are they used in trading?
Shared image - FPGAs  and trading
FPGAs and trading
glassdoor.com
See all

IMC Trading Photos

+ Add Photo
IMC Trading photo of: Team meeting
IMC Trading photo of: Lunch in our breakout area
IMC Trading photo of: Meeting in progress
IMC Trading photo of: IMC Traineeship in progress
IMC Trading photo of: Some of the 2018 Grads  relaxing in the kitchen in Sydney.
IMC Trading photo of: Habour Bridge Climb
IMC Trading photo of: Busy cooking for those less fortunate at OzHarvest
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 199 IMC Trading reviews submitted anonymously by IMC Trading employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if IMC Trading is right for you.