IMI Precision Engineering "imi" Reviews | Glassdoor

IMI Precision Engineering Employee Reviews about "imi"

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
40%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
IMI Precision Engineering Managing Director Massimo Grassi
Massimo Grassi
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and plenty of variety in work(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good People, Nice office, good 401k match(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Business is declining and upper management does not seem to have a plan(in 6 reviews)

  • "IMI has always been a guiding force to me personally(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "imi"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Norgren aka IMI aka Unacceptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accounting/Finance in Littleton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering

    Pros

    Initial compensation was good. What seemed like challenging and interesting work really just ended up being frustration from lack of communication, documentation, streamlining of processes, resources, and competent co-workers.

    Cons

    It pains me to say this, but the other reviews here are totally valid. The HR department is completely unprofessional and most of the staff completely unqualified. As a senior accounting and finance position, I often worked adjacent to them and was rarely impressed. They really make things up, as they go, and their priority is rarely on the employee. There's a huge disconnect between companies (Norgren is now a part of IMI PLC, etc.) and efficiencies are constantly being lost. Money can be tight for resources/supplies, based on how the parent companies are feeling that day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too many consolidations - it's time to break down a little. Human Resources staff is the least talented yet find themselves grueling potential talent relentlessly.

    IMI Precision Engineering2015-02-28
  2. "Control freak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Works in the life science sector, people engaged and trying their best to fulfill IMI expectations

    Cons

    Incoherent demands from the group, lots of reporting and changing demands, jeopardizing the daily and operational work at division level, pressure really high to maintain the benefits and a lot of controls when autonomy is very low at all levels of the divisions.

    Advice to Management

    Delegation, management by objectives, trust, empowerment, put the human at the center and then cash will follow, the reverse means high turnover and disengagement.

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-06-25
  3. "Operations Director - ANZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Rowville
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for as IMI places importance on training their staff in readiness to outrun the competition. The current MD of ANZ is highly educated and extremely focused and brings agility to the organisation to continually improve the status-quo.

    Cons

    Never experienced any negative feedback. IMI has always been a guiding force to me personally.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    IMI Precision Engineering2019-05-22
  4. Helpful (5)

    "A good start to my career, plenty of room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manufacturing Systems Engineer in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering for more than a year

    Pros

    They took a chance on me right out of university and gave me more responsibility that most people of my age were getting. Some great people made for a good working environment. Flex time and half day Fridays were great.

    Cons

    Understaffed. Everyone had more on their plate than they could reasonably keep up with. Some miscommunication in the chain of the command meant that I was getting competing objectives assigned simultaneously by different senior staff. The "IMI Way" training is almost insultingly oppressive in the way it tries to govern how you behave both inside and outside of work.

    Advice to Management

    Improve organisation and communication. I gave 6 weeks notice before I left the company and an exit interview was never conducted.

    IMI Precision Engineering2016-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sustaining Design Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were talented, driven, very social and looked out for one another.

    Cons

    IMI decided to close our site down after only 2 years of ownership. Nobody saw that coming.

    Advice to Management

    Be more honest with staff about the health and wealth of the company. It empowers staff to know how well their company is doing or drives staff to improve and make changes to benefit the company.

    IMI Precision Engineering2016-04-20
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    IMI Way Day is about community service and compliance

    Cons

    The working environment is different in different cultures.

    Advice to Management

    In China, the trading company and manufacturing should be treated same.

    IMI Precision Engineering2016-03-28
  7. "Diverse, genuine global scale of operations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering full-time

    Pros

    Strong presence in growth industries meaning good job security. Largest business within the IMI Group (parent).

    Cons

    Rapid growth in some sectors means that sometime things can be chaotic.

    IMI Precision Engineering2014-02-02
Found 7 reviews