IMI Precision Engineering "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

IMI Precision Engineering Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
40%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
IMI Precision Engineering Managing Director Massimo Grassi
Massimo Grassi
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and plenty of variety in work(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good People, Nice office, good 401k match(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Business is declining and upper management does not seem to have a plan(in 6 reviews)

  • "IMI has always been a guiding force to me personally(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "nice place to work, questionable advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering

    Pros

    At the administrative and design level: * Competitive pay * Increasing business even through tough times. * Competent, friendly people. No evident backstabbing * Strong concern for safety and workplace quality * Employees have unsponsored sports activities or parties outside of work * An opportunity to learn * Reasonably well protected from investor-driven mindset * Moderate level of bureaucracy

    Cons

    At the administrative and design level: * Promotions go to people with a certain area of expertise, from the same university * Recently, too many layers of management. * Same upper management for >10 years. Well-intentioned, but too inbred. Change is incremental and bandaid-like. * Management sits above areas of expertise they appreciate, but can not understand or manage. At the work floor level: * Unpredictable work hours. Operations are not smooth. Slowly getting better.

    IMI Precision Engineering2011-06-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Declining company with little foresight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping/Receiving Clerk in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good coworkers , who were always willing to help(Rochester Hills) -Approachable lower level and intermediate management -Strong commitment to continuous improvement -Free lunches frequently

    Cons

    -Cliquish culture in Saline facility -Business is declining and upper management does not seem to have a plan. Instead they just lay-off low level workers -Management seems to outnumber the employees -Upper management is not transparent

    Continue reading
    IMI Precision Engineering2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Not recommended if you are career motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job perspective and role seemed extremely positive at the initial interview and for the first 8 months of employment. HR was very helpful at the onset and the newly initiated training program for new hires was positive.

    Cons

    Very tired and conservative organization that seems to rest on its laurels from the Norgren days. Upper Management is especially lackluster in that they are planning at the expense of their employees and not the future sustainability of the company. Many layoffs and a very negative atmosphere to work in.

    Continue reading
    IMI Precision Engineering2018-09-19

    IMI Precision Engineering Response

    November 14, 2018Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your candid feedback about your experience in working with us at IMI. I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience after such a great time starting with the company. We definitely appreciate the feedback and are continually looking to improve our processes and employee development. We have also continued to strengthen our succession planning efforts to continue the growth of our employees and company as a whole. Again, thank you for the feedback and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. Kind regards IMI Precision Engineering

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful team to work with. Pretty good benefits package.

    Cons

    Disorganized work flow. Lack of support from upper management. Low pay. Lack of ability for growth within company.

    Continue reading
    IMI Precision Engineering2017-07-12

    IMI Precision Engineering Response

    September 25, 2017Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. In response to feedback from our employees, we have recently made significant changes within the site. These address several of the issues you have highlighted here. This includes establishment of standard work for operational roles, enhancements to work instructions, and a focused effort to assess and redesign work processes. Additionally, steps have been taken to clarify career paths and assess our compensation in light of our relevant marketplace. We hope these changes will have a positive impact on the great team we have in Vegas. Kind regards HR, IMI Precision Engineering, Las Vegas

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "It was a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brookville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IMI Precision Engineering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The 401(k) is great. Benefits are within normal range for industry.

    Cons

    The worst management I have ever work for. Corporate management changes the company's direction weekly. No leaders that have a vision of where the company is headed. Extremely high turn over rate, especially in upper management. Managers spend too much time on useless numbers and no time getting to root cause of any problems. All departments are islands. No inter department communication or problem solving. Overly strict with uniforms and bell system. Treats employees like misbehaving children. No access to tools needed to do your job. No work home life balance. Promise one thing, but it is different once you are hired on. I would never recommend this company to a friend.

    Continue reading
    IMI Precision Engineering2017-02-17

    IMI Precision Engineering Response

    October 27, 2017Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for providing your review. We highly value input from former employees. The DNA of Brookville is focused on taking care of our Customers and supporting our employees. We have recently implemented a daily production meeting to align priorities, focus on root cause investigation, and promote interdepartmental communication. Progress from this meeting has eliminated mandatory weekend shifts. As we continue on our lean journey we will ensure we collect input from our long-term employees and implement their solutions. Kind regards, HR, IMI Precision Engineering, Brookville, Americas

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Have Lost Their Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI Precision Engineering

    Pros

    Direct colleagues were in general lovely people.

    Cons

    Too focussed of silly things like how neat your desk is rather than on the customer. Lower-level staff are not really listened to despite being the ones dealing directly with the customers. Staff have lost respect and confidence in upper-management and are just trying to keep their heads above water.

    Continue reading
    IMI Precision Engineering2016-09-01
Found 6 reviews