ING "dutch" Reviews | Glassdoor

ING Employee Reviews about "dutch"

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
ING CEO Ralph Hamers
Ralph Hamers
417 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of direction from senior management and detrimental structural changes(in 37 reviews)

  • "Bij reorganisaties wordt niet objectief geselecteerd(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dutch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ING full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family work life balance focus culture despite being in finance/banking/lending The teams also have good reputations in the banking world and are slowly but steadily gaining exposure and leadership positions i deals ING americas is growing quickly so every team is expanding and that's exciting to see

    Cons

    Low turnover at upper levels so difficult to get promoted quickly as a young analyst Also sometimes the Dutch culture is annoying. Like trying to skimp on rent or cramming a lot of people into a small space with no storage. That's cute and all but really the office costs are dwarfed by our revenues generated in this region.

    Continue reading
    ING2016-11-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not the same place that hired me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Trader in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ING full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and fair salary.

    Cons

    Not a transparent environment. Management team doesn't share information unless it is in their best interest. Dutch natives tend to be gruff and speak in their own language in order to get away with subject matter around those who don't understand.

    Continue reading
    ING2016-09-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ING full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked there for 10 years and had the chance to change jobs, change countries and build an interesting career. Great people and good benefits. I am sad I left.

    Cons

    They were cheap with the bonuses compared to the financial industry. Those who were Dutch had an advantage compared to the rest.

    ING2015-07-23
  4. "Great business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at ING full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Long term employees with deep industry experience; loyal, based on meritocracy. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Dutch parent may not always be aligned with U.S. Market

    ING2015-05-31
  5. "Outstanding opportunity to grow with an organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of New Business/Call Center in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ING full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move around the organization, strong leadership, interesting culture challenges (US versus Netherlands), and solid goal and objective setting from the top down.

    Cons

    Tough industry as it is very competitive and goes with the flow of the economy. Can sometimes move slower to make decisions given the Dutch influence of consensus.

    Continue reading
    ING2014-02-03
  6. "ING is not a very good place to work - very bureaucratic and political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ING

    Pros

    Large international company with businesses in 85 countries. Very well positioned direct bank. Used to have snappy advertising and brand campaign that was well respected by clientrs.

    Cons

    Poorly run, overly political organization in the US. Financially they are capital constrained and needed a bailout from the Dutch government. More layoffs are probably in their future.

    Continue reading
    ING2009-07-17
  7. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ING

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and good colleaghes

    Cons

    Very Dutch, a lots of politics in top management

    ING2020-01-14
  8. "Decent work/life balance, but ready to shed externals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Risk Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ING full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively exciting work environment, smart people, work from home benefits

    Cons

    High employee turnover, can be difficult as a non-Dutch

    ING2019-06-24
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at ING

    Pros

    Big company, stable, maybe a good place to work

    Cons

    Some racism, dutch is a barrier to advance career

    ING2018-09-25
  10. "Good workplace but unequal salary treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Specialist in Brussels
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ING full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work environment and facilities are satisfactory. - Work/life balance is possible. - Wide range of perks

    Cons

    - Unequal salary and other perk treatment among employee with similar roles and experiences. In my case, I earned 20% less than a colleague, didn't have the same compensation package, and had a 1-year probation period while other started had 3 or none! - Though English is the official working language, your career evolution might be stall if you don't speak either Dutch or French. - Lack of courage from middle management to support their team members.

    Continue reading
    ING2018-01-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews
</>Embed